Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects >> Health Sciences

Research Guide: History of Surgery Resources

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

EBSCO History Databases
Search 3 databases at once! History Reference Center, Military & Gov't Collection, European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750. Covers U.S. and World History.
Gale World History
For this assignment, start with "Reference" (under "Everything" at the right).

Back to Top

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
Invasion of the body: revolutions in surgery Stacks RD19 .T56 2011
Introduction to the history of general surgery Stacks RD19 .M35 1968
Blood and guts: a history of surgery Stacks RD19 .H65 2008
The illustrated history of surgery Stacks RD19 .H34 2000
Surgery : an illustrated history Reference RD19 .R88 1993
The Cambridge illustrated history of surgery Stacks RD19 .E43 2009
Invasion of the body: revolutions in surgery Stacks RD19 .T56 2011
Hamilton's history of medicine and surgery E-Book View E-Book
Invasion of the body: revolutions in surgery E-Book View E-Book
Operations that made history E-Book View E-Book

 

Example searches:  surgery and history, surgery and history and pain, surgery and history and anesthesia,  etc.

Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
eBrary (Proquest)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) -- completely electronic
Find More Books...

Find Video...

Recommended Video
Title Location Call Number
Surgery: A history - DVD AV RD19 .S87 2004

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 03/28/17