Ask-A-Librarian Logo

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects >> Health Sciences

Research Guide: Respiratory Resources

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Health Reference Center Academic
Full-text nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources.
Health Source: Nursing & Academic Edition
Scholarly full-text journals. Abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Updated daily.
CINAHL (EBSCO)
Full-text for nursing & allied health journals.
EBSCO Health Databases
Search ALL 4 of the EBSCO health databases at once! These include Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, CINAHL, MEDLINE, and Health Source: Consumer Edition.
Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module (Gale)
Encyclopedia, dictionary, drug index, magazine articles.
See ALL Health Science Databases
Gale Power Search
Search 12 different databases at once!
Covers a wide range of subject areas
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results).
The most recent articles are listed first on the results page - check to make sure your article was published in the last five years!
Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File). You will need this for your citation.

Back to Top


Find Books...

Recommended Books

Title Location Call Number
Advanced Respiratory Therapist Exam Guide Reference RC731 .E96 S5 2006
Murray and Nadel's Textbook of Respiratory Medicine Reference  RC731 .T48 2010
Physician's Desk Reference Reference RS75 .P5 2010
The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy Reference RC55 .M4 2011
Mosby's Respiratory Care Equipment Reference  RC735 .I5 R4728 2010

 

 

Example Subject Headings: respiratory therapy

Search the Catalog:

Library Catalog

  • Find materials that are in the physical library.
  • Primarily good for finding books.
  • Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
  • Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
  • See which library the book is located in, and what section.
  • Be sure to write down the book's call number!

eBook Collection

  • Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
  • E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
  • Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
  • For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!

Find More Books...

Back to Top


Find Websites...

MEDLINEPLUS: http://medlineplus.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus

American Association for Respiratory Care: http://www.aarc.org/

American Lung Association: Data and fact sheets on asthma, air quality, tobacco control, http://www.lungusa.org

American Thoracic Society, the medical section of the American Lung Association: http://www.thoracic.org

NCHPEG: National Coalition for Health Professional Education in Genetics: http://www.nchpeg.org

Gene Clinics: Medical genetics information resource, http://www.geneclinics.org

National Newborn Screening & Genetics Resource Center: http://genes-r-us.uthscsa.edu/resources/genetics/primary_care.htm

Genetics & Your Practice: Medical genetics education, http://www.marchofdimes.com/gyponline/index.bm2

VentWorld: Case studies, http://ventworld.com/education/education.asp

Back to Top


Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us using the form on our homepage (http://library.sccsc.edu) and we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Normal Reference Desk Hours: Mon-Thurs 7:30am - 9pm, Fri 7:30am - 1:30pm, Sat 9am - 1pm

Reference Desk Phone Number: Main-Spartanburg Campus (864) 592-4654, Cherokee Campus (864) 206-2656, Tyger River Campus (864) 592-6220

Back to Top