Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects >> Health Sciences

Research Guide: Physical Therapy Resources

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Health Reference Center Academic
Full-text nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources.
CINAHL (EBSCO)
Full-text for nursing & allied health journals.
EBSCO Health Databases
Search all 4 of the EBSCO health databases at once! These include Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, CINAHL, MEDLINE, and Health Source: Consumer Edition.
Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module (Gale)
Encyclopedia, dictionary, drug index, magazine articles.
Nursing and Allied Health Collection (GALE)
Nearly 400 titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
See all Health Science Databases
Gale Power Search
Search 12 different databases at once!
Covers a wide range of subject areas
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results).
The most recent articles are listed first on the results page - check to make sure your article was published in the last five years!
Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File). You will need this for your citation.

Back to Top

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
Physical rehabilitation Stacks RM700 .O88 2007
Introduction to physical therapy Stacks RM700 .P34 2007
Clinical cases in physical therapy Cherokee
Stacks
RM701 .B738 2004
Body mechanics for manual therapists : a functional approach to self-care Tyger River
Stacks
RM722 .F79 2010

 

Example Subject Headings: physical therapy, rehabilitation

Related Terms: hydrotherapy, exercise therapy, movement therapy, range of motion

Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
eBrary (Proquest)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) -- completely electronic
Find More Books...

Back to Top

Find Websites...

Associations and Societies

American Physical Therapy Association: The principal organization representing and promoting the profession of physical therapy, http://www.apta.org/.

World Confederation for Physical Therapy: Founded in 1951, the WCPT is the sole international voice for physical therapy, representing more than 350,000 physical therapists worldwide by furthering the physical therapy profession and improving global health, http://www.wcpt.org/.

Publications

Journal of the American Physical Therapy Association: The official publication of the American Physical Therapy Association (APTA). It is an international, scholarly, peer-reviewed journal, http://ptjournal.apta.org/.

Today in PT: A leading publication with quality in-depth editorials for physical therapists and physical thrapy assistants, http://www.todayinpt.com/.

NEWS-Line for Physical Therapists & PT Assistants: An online source for professional news, informative articles and career openings in the field of physical therapy, http://www.news-line.com/pt_home.

PubMed/MEDLINE: The National Library of Medicine's electronic database of 20 million biomedical citations and abstracts that is searchable at no cost. It covers the fields of medicine, nursing, and health and rehabilitation sciences, and includes The Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy which develops and administers the National Physical Therapy Examination for both PTs and PTAs, http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/.

Physical Therapy Related Websites

PhysicalTherapists.com: A collaborative informational web site designed and owned by physical therapists, http://physicaltherapist.com/.

The American Academy of Physical Therapy: Dedicated to promoting awareness and research to the African American community, http://aaptnet.org/.

PT Central: Provides study materials and job information for physical therapy students, http://www.ptcentral.com/.

Move Forward PT: The official consumer information website of the American Physical Therapy Association, http://www.moveforwardpt.com/.

The American Association of Intensive Pediatric Physical Therapy: Provides information for parents of disabled children who are searching for the most innovative pediatric physical therapy treatments, http://www.pediatricapta.org/.

The American Congress of Rehabilitation Medicine: Serves people with disabling conditions by promoting rehabilitation research and facilitating information dissemination and the transfer of technology, http://www.acrm.org/.

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 05/09/17