Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects >> Health Sciences

Research Guide: Pharmacy Technician Resources

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Health Reference Center Academic
Full-text nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources.
Health Source: Nursing & Academic Edition
Scholarly full-text journals. Abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Updated daily.
CINAHL (EBSCO)
Full-text for nursing & allied health journals.
EBSCO Health Databases
Search all 4 of the EBSCO health databases at once! These include Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, CINAHL, MEDLINE, and Health Source: Consumer Edition.
Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module (Gale)
Encyclopedia, dictionary, drug index, magazine articles.
Journal of Pharmacy Technology
See all Health Science Databases
Gale Power Search
Search 12 different databases at once!
Covers a wide range of subject areas
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results).
The most recent articles are listed first on the results page - check to make sure your article was published in the last five years!
Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File). You will need this for your citation.

Back to Top

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
Drug Facts and Comparisons Reference RS250 .D78 2014
Drug Information Handbook Reference RM 301.12 .D784 2012
Physicians' Desk Reference Reference RS75 .P5 2015
Remington: The Science and Practice of Pharmacy Reference RS 91 .R45 2013 2 vols.
Certification exam review for the pharmacy technician Stacks RS122.95 .C47 2016
The pharmacy technician : a comprehensive approach Stacks RS122.95 .M654 2016
Math for pharmacy technicians Stacks RS57 .Z46 2014
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary Reference
E-Book
R121 .T18 2009
View E-Book (2005 ed.)
Browse Books on 'Pharmacy technicians'    

 

More Book Titles

Example Subject Headings: drugs, pharmacy, pharmacology

Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
Ebook Central (Proquest)pascal resource
Search entire books available online.
Find More Books...

Back to Top

Find Websites...

American Association of Pharmacy Technicians: https://pharmacytechnician.com/

American Society of Health-System Pharmacists: http://www.ashp.org/

Board of Pharmaceutical Specialists: http://www.bpsweb.org/

Center for Drug Evaluation and Research: http://www.fda.gov/cder

ClinicalTrials.gov: A resource of the National Institute of Health, http://www.clinicaltrials.gov

Drug Infonet: has link to "Pharmaceutical Manufacturer Information", http://www.druginfonet.com

Drug Topics - The Online Newsmagazine for Pharmacists: http://drugtopics.modernmedicine.com/

Food and Drug Administration (FDA): http://www.fda.gov

FDA's Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER): http://www.fda.gov

The Internet Drug Index: http://rxlist.com

Physician's Desk Reference: link to "Information for Consumers", http://www.pdr.net

National Institute of Drug Abuse: http://www.nida.nih.gov

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board: http://www.ptcb.org/

United States Pharmacopeia Convention: http://www.usp.org/

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 05/09/17