Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects >> Health Sciences

Research Guide: Medical Assisting Resources

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Health Reference Center Academic
Full-text nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources.
Health Source: Nursing & Academic Edition
Scholarly full-text journals. Abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Updated daily.
CINAHL (EBSCO)
Full-text for nursing & allied health journals.
EBSCO Health Databases
Search all 4 of the EBSCO health databases at once! These include Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, CINAHL, MEDLINE, and Health Source: Consumer Edition.
Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module (Gale)
Encyclopedia, dictionary, drug index, magazine articles.
See all Health Science Databases
Gale Power Search
Search 12 different databases at once!
Covers a wide range of subject areas
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results).
The most recent articles are listed first on the results page - check to make sure your article was published in the last five years!
Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File). You will need this for your citation.

Back to Top

Find Books...

Recommended Medical Assisting Books
Title Location Call Number
Kinn's the medical assistant : an applied learning approach Stacks R728.8 .K493 2017
Delmar's comprehensive medical assisting : administrative and clinical competencies Stacks R728.8 .D43 2014
Medical assisting : administrative and clinical competencies Stacks R728.8 .K44 2017
Administrative medical assisting : foundations and practices Stacks R728.8 .M278 2015
Medical assistant exam : strategies, practice & review with practice test Stacks R728.8 .M384 2015
Elsevier's medical assisting exam review Stacks R697 .P45 H65 2018

Other Recommended Health Books
Title Location Call Number
Magill's medical guide Reference
E-Book
RC41 .M34 2011 6 vols.
View E-Book
Saunders nursing drug handbook 2016 Reference RM125 .H572 2016
Physician's desk reference Reference RS75 .P5 2015
Transcultural health care : a culturally competent approach Central Stacks
Downtown Campus Stacks
RA418.5 .T73 T73 2013
Medical law and ethics Stacks KF3821 .F74 2016
Law & ethics for the health professions Stacks R725.5 .J83 2016
Health care ethics and the law Stacks KF3821 .H359 2017
Medical office procedures Stacks R728.8 .B44 2014

 

Example Subject Headings: medical assistants, diseases, symptoms, diabetes, cancer, medical ethics,  etc.

Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
Ebook Central (Proquest)pascal resource
Search entire books available online.
Find More Books...

Back to Top

Find Websites...

Associations

American Association of Medical Assistants: http://www.aama-ntl.org/.

Online Databases / Journals

MEDLINEplus: Easy-to-understand resource on various diseases and health topics for the public. Includes information from MEDLINE, links to self-help groups, health organizations, medical dictionaries, and clinical trials, http://medlineplus.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/

Pub Med: The National Library of Medicine's bibliographic database covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. Includes citations from almost 4,000 journals. Contains approximately 9 million records, http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/PubMed/

New England Journal of Medicine: http://www.nejm.org

AIDS Education Global Information System: http://www.aegis.com

The Merck Manual of Medical Information: www.merck.com/mmhe/index.html

Health and Government Organizations

American Lung Association: Good source for information about lungs and lung related diseases, http://www.lungusa.org.

CancerNet: from the National Cancer Institute. Can search CANCERLIT, a database of 1.3 million records of cancer-related documents, http://cancernet.nci.nih.gov/

Centers for Disease Control: Good source for statistical information on diseases, http://www.cdc.gov.

Healthfinder: Wide variety of consumer health information. Provides links to more than 550 Web sites. Searchable, http://www.healthfinder.gov/.

Mayo Health Oasis: from the Mayo Clinic. Features health headlines, articles, interactive quizzes, links to related sites. Can search by drug name, http://www.healthfinder.gov/.

Medical Library Association: Information for health consumers and patients, Medical Library Association, http://www.mlanet.org/p/cm/ld/fid=398

National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute: Information on diseases of the heart, blood vessels, lung, http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov.

National Institute of Mental Health: thorough articles on mental health disorders, http://www.nimh.nih.gov/

National Institute of Nursing Research: http://www.ninr.nih.gov/

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 06/02/17