Ask-A-Librarian Logo

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects >> Health Sciences

Research Guide: Medical Lab Technician

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module (Gale)
Encyclopedia, dictionary, drug index, magazine articles.
Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO)
Provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full-text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.
Health Reference Center Academic
Full-text nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources.
Health Source: Nursing & Academic Edition
Scholarly full-text journals. Abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Updated daily.
CINAHL (EBSCO)
Full-text for nursing & allied health journals.
EBSCO Health Databases
Search ALL 4 of the EBSCO health databases at once! These include Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, CINAHL, MEDLINE, and Health Source: Consumer Edition.
Health Reference Center (Facts on File)
Reference book articles. Information on conditions and diseases, health and wellness, mental health, and the human body.
See ALL Health Science Databases
Gale Power Search
Search 12 different databases at once!
Covers a wide range of subject areas
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results).
The most recent articles are listed first on the results page - check to make sure your article was published in the last five years!
Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File). You will need this for your citation.

Back to Top


Find Books...

Recommended Reference Books

Title Location Call Number
Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment Reference RC 71 .A14 2011
Davis's Comprehensive Handbook of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests Reference RB 38.2 S37 2009
Handbook of Pathophysiology Reference RB 113.C785 2008
Infectious Diseases Handbook Reference RC 112 .I47 2006
Laboratory Test Handbook Reference RB 38.2 .L327 2004
Manual of Clinical Microbiology Reference QR46 .M425 2007 2 vols.
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy Reference RC55 .M4 2011
Mosby's Diagnostic and Laboratory Test Reference Reference RB 38.2 .P337 2009
Standards for Blood Banks and Transfusion Services Reference RM 172 .A54 2009
Technical Manual (American Association of Blood Banks) Reference RM 172.T43 2008
Tietz Clinical Guide to Laboratory Tests Reference RB38.2 .C55 2006

 

Parasites
Title Location Call Number
Ash & Orihel's Atlas of Human Parasitology Reference RC119 .A8 2007
Atlas of Human Parasitology Reference RC 119 .A8 2007
Human Parasitic Diseases Sourcebook Reference RC 119 .B446 2006

 

*Parasites -- Suggested subject terms: parasitic diseases, diagnosis, urinalysis, parasitology, laboratory--techniques

Search the Catalog:

Library Catalog

  • Find materials that are in the physical library.
  • Primarily good for finding books.
  • Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
  • Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
  • See which library the book is located in, and what section.
  • Be sure to write down the book's call number!

eBook Collection

  • Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
  • E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
  • Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
  • For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!

Find More Books...

Back to Top


Find Websites...

Spartanburg Community College Library General Health Websites Handout: http://library.sccsc.edu/handouts/genhealth.htm

Lab Training and Competency Assessment: http://www.medtraining.org

American Association of Blood Banks: http://www.aabb.org

American Society for Clinical Pathology: http://www.ascp.org

American Society for Clinical Laboratory Science: http://www.ascls.org

Blood: Journal of the American Society of Hematology: http://bloodjournal.hematologylibrary.org/

Careers in Medical Laboratory Technology: http://www.ascp.org/MainMenu/laboratoryprofessionals/CareerCenter.aspx

CDC: Division of Parasitic Diseases: http://www.cdc.gov/ncidod/dpd/index.htm

Clinical Laboratory Science Internet Resources: http://members.tripod.com/~LouCaru/index-5.html

DPDx: Laboratory Identification of Parasites of Public Health Concern: http://www.dpd.cdc.gov/dpdx

MUSC Library Terrorism Website: http://terrorism.library.musc.edu

National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences (NAACLS): http://naacls.org

Hematology and Immunology Sites

Atlas of Hematology: http://pathy.med.nagoya-u.ac.jp/atlas/doc

American Society for Hematology: http://www.hematology.org

Annals of Hematology Online: http://link.springer-ny.com/link/service/journals/00277

International Immunology On-line Journal: http://intimm.oupjournals.org

The Immunology Link Home Page: http://www.immunologylink.com

Back to Top


Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us using the form on our homepage (http://library.sccsc.edu) and we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Normal Reference Desk Hours: Mon-Thurs 7:30am - 9pm, Fri 7:30am - 1:30pm, Sat 9am - 1pm

Reference Desk Phone Number: Main-Spartanburg Campus (864) 592-4654, Cherokee Campus (864) 206-2656, Tyger River Campus (864) 592-6220

Back to Top