Ask-A-Librarian Logo

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects >> Chemsitry

Research Guide: General Chemistry Resources

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

OFF CAMPUS ACCESS: username is your Web ID (ex: absmith), and the password is your portal password.

EBSCO Science List
Search 3 databases at once! Science Reference Center, GreenFile, and Applied Science & Technology Full Text.
Today's Science
Today's Science explains important developments in biology, chemistry, the environment, space, physics, and technology. Updated weekly and containing thousands of links to a 15-year back-file. Facts on File database.
Gale Science in Context
Articles from over 200 magazines and academic journals and links to quality web sites.

[Back to Top]


Find Books...

Recommended Books

Title Location Call Number
World of Chemistry Reference QD 33. T757 2001
A Guide to the Elements Reference QD 466. S78 2002
The Rosen Comprehensive Dictionary of Chemistry Reference  QD5 R75 2008
Handbook of Chemistry & Physics Reference QD65 H236 2008
Leung's Encyclopedia of Common Natural Ingredients Used in Food, Drugs & Cosmetics Reference QD 415. A25 L48 2010

Example Subject Headings: chemistry, scientists

Call Number Range: QD (General Chemistry)

Search the Catalog:

Library Catalog

  • Find materials that are in the physical library.
  • Primarily good for finding books.
  • Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
  • Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
  • See which library the book is located in, and what section.
  • Be sure to write down the book's call number!

eBook Collection

  • Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
  • E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
  • Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
  • For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!

Find More Books...

[Back to Top]


Find Websites...

American Chemical Society: The world's largest scientific society. Latest news about chemistry meetings, journals, business, education, environment , food and agriculture, health and medicine, materials and technology. Not really good for researching (nothing free full-text), but very useful to a professional, http://www.acs.org/.

Beilstein Journal of Nanotechnology: Open access journal, peer-reviewed journal, http://www.beilstein-journals.org/bjnano/home/home.htm.

Beilstein Journal of Organic Chemistry (BJOC): Open access journal, peer-reviewed journal, http://www.beilstein-journals.org/bjoc/home/home.htm.

[Back to Top]


Find Citation Help...

NoodleBib

  • A helpful tool that will create citations/works cited pages based on an item's information.
  • **First time users must select "Create a Personal ID" from the Noodlebib login screen to access NoodleBib **

Our Citations Page has more help on using MLA & APA format.

[Back to Top]


Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us using the form on our homepage (http://library.sccsc.edu) and we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Normal Reference Desk Hours: Mon-Thurs 7:30am - 9pm, Fri 7:30am - 1:30pm, Sat 9am - 1pm

Reference Desk Phone Number: Main-Spartanburg Campus (864) 592-4654, Cherokee Campus (864) 206-2656, Tyger River Campus (864) 592-6220

Back to Top