Ask-A-Librarian Logo

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects

Research Guide: General Interpreter Training / ASL Resources


Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Gale Power Search
Search 12 different databases at once!
A good place to search for almost any topic - covers a wide range of subject areas.
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results)
Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File).
EBSCO General Databases
Search 10 databases at once: Academic Search Premier, TOPICsearch, MasterFILE Premier, Military & Government Collection, MAS Ultra - School Edition, Vocational and Career Collection, Associates Programs Source, Newspaper Source Plus, GreenFILE, and AP NewsMonitor Collection. Find journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
EBSCO Education Databases
Search 4 databases at once! ERIC, Teacher Reference Center, Professional Development, and Education Full Text. Academic journals, news, reports, etc. in teaching and education.

Back to Top


Find Books...

Recommended Books

Title Location Call Number
American Sign Language Handshape Dictionary Reference HV2475 .T46 2010
American Sign Language and Interpreting Practice Tapes [Videotapes] Stacks HV2474 .A447 1989 GUIDE 6B
Students Working With Educational Interpreters, Parts I & II [Videotapes]Stacks HV2402 .S78 1997
Fingerspelled Names & Introductions: A Template Building Approach [Videotapes] Stacks HV2477 .F54 1997
Situational Interpreting [Videotapes] Stacks HV2402 .S57 1990
Deaf/Blind Communication and Community [Videotapes] Stacks HV1597 .S65 2009
The National Curriculum for Training Interpreters Working with People Who Are Deaf-Blind [Videotapes] Stacks HV1597 .N38 2001
Deaf Students' Perspectives on their Language Stacks HV2474 .A43 1992

 

Example Subject Headings: sign language, translating and interpreting, interpreters for the deaf, American Sign Language

Search the Catalog:

Library Catalog

  • Find materials that are in the physical library.
  • Primarily good for finding books.
  • Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
  • Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
  • See which library the book is located in, and what section.
  • Be sure to write down the book's call number!

eBook Collection

  • Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
  • E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
  • Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
  • For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!

Find More Books...

Back to Top


Find Websites...


General Websites

Associations:

American Deafness and Rehabilitation Association (ADARA): A nonprofit association made up of professionals and interested persons promoting and participating in quality human service delivery to Deaf and Hard of Hearing persons, http://www.adara.org/

Council of Education of the Deaf (CED): Part of the Deaf Education website. CED provides information on certification process, by laws, standards, and other important information, http://www.deafed.net/PageText.asp?hdnPageId=58

National Association of the Deaf : Largest organization representing persons who are deaf or hard of hearing, http://www.nad.org/

South Carolina Association of the Deaf: Provides advocacy, resources and services for people who are deaf, http://www.scadservices.org/

Career & Employment Information:

American Deafness and Rehabilitation Association (ADARA): A nonprofit association made up of professionals and interested persons promoting and participating in quality human service delivery to Deaf and Hard of Hearing persons, http://www.adara.org/

Careers in Deafness: An article on the opportunities of working with deaf people, http://clerccenter.gallaudet.edu/Clerc_Center/Information_and_Resources/Info_To_Go.html/133.html

Communication Access Network-CAN Interpreter: Provides comprehensive communications services to its customers through a network of Interpreters, Captioners and Independent Consultants, http://caninterpreters.com/

Deaf Education: Provides a place for educators to post resumes and search for jobs as well as allows employers to post jobs and search the resumes, http://www.deafed.net/

Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (RID): RID is an national organization that serves interpreters, interpreter students and the Deaf community, http://www.rid.org/

Sign Language Associates, Inc: http://www.semel.ucla.edu/nadc/support-resource/sign-language-associates-inc

South Carolina Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (SCRID): SCRID serves the interpreters, interpreter students and the Deaf Community of South Carolina, http://scrid.homestead.com/index.html

Connecting to the ITP Community

Deaf Education: Has both bulletin boards and list serves that Interpreters can become members of, http://www.deafed.net/

Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (RID): Find an interpreter/Member, http://www.rid.org/

Educational Institutions

Deaf Education: Has links for a search engine, Deaf Ed. Teacher Preparation, Deaf Ed. Job Bank, Calendar of Events, Bulletin Boards, Scholarship and Grant Information, http://www.deafed.net/.

Gallaudet University: Provides educational resources for deaf, hard of hearing, and hearing students including information ASL interpreting, http://www.gallaudet.edu/.

EKU Interpreter Training Program Eastern Kentucky University: Offers four year degrees and workshops in Interpreting, http://www.interpreting.eku.edu/.

National Technical Institute for the Deaf: World's first and largest technological college for student who are deaf and hard of hearing. They also have programs in educational interpreting and education of students who are deaf or hard of hearing, http://www.ntid.rit.edu/.

Spartanburg Community College: SCC offers associate degrees in the Interpreter Training as a distance education program. SCC also offers an ASL Certificate program, http://www.sccsc.edu/academics/programs/sign/.

Miscellaneous Resources

How to Become an Interpreter: Explains what interpreting is, what is needed to be considered a professional interpreter, where you can get a degree in sign language interpreting, how to use an interpreter, and what you should know about deafness, http://www.deaflinx.com/Interpreting/howterp.html.

What is a Qualified Interpreter... : This site needs Adobe Acrobat Reader to look at it. It goes through a list of traits that being a good interpreter requires, http://sunsite.utk.edu/cod/pec/accommodations.html.

Sign Language (ASL)

American Sign Language Browser: Has a large list of words and tells in words how to do the sign, http://commtechlab.msu.edu/sites/aslweb/browser.htm.

American Sign Language Medical Glossary: This is a link to MSU Sign language browser, but it has divided the terms in to medical categories like Anatomy, Clothing and Dressing, Daily Living, and Hospital and Sickroom, http://www.angelfire.com/pa3/ecarpenter/Topics.htm.

Gallaudet University-Assessment & American Sign Language: Talks about Gallaudet's programs, as well as provides links to interesting information on ASL, http://www.gallaudet.edu/gallaudet_research_institute/assessment/assessment.html.

HandSpeak: One of the largest visual language dictionary online. Has signs by alphabetical listing and by categories. Even has stories in sign, http://www.handspeak.com/.

Supplies (Materials)

Captioned Media Program: Free-loan media, resources, open-captioned program funded by the U.S. Department of Education available to Deaf and hard of hearing persons, teachers, and parents, http://www.dcmp.org/Default.aspx?AspxAutoDetectCookieSupport=1

Dawn Sign Press: DawnSignPress has ASL and Deaf culture titles available, http://www.dawnsignpress.com/.

Harris Communications: This site has assistive products designed for deaf and hard-of-hearing people. Including books, videos, equipment and novelties, http://www.harriscomm.com/

Interpreting (Specific Settings)

Artistic

Interpreting in Drama & Musical Settings: Has several links to organizations that are involved with providing interpretation for cultural events, http://www.deaflinx.com/Interpreting/perfterp.html.

Sign Language Associates, Inc: A private company that provides interpreters. It has job opportunities, list of events with interpreters, mentorship program, and a place to request services, http://www.purple.us/on-site_interpreting/.

Sign Language Interpreting Theatre: Discusses using interpreters (compensation, legal issues, audience development) in the theatre and includes a discussion list, http://terptheatre.com/.

Educational

Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf: All list of books and videos that are useful to interpreters in educational settings, http://www.rid.org/aboutRID/initiatives/index.cfm/AID/131.

Interpreting Info & Resources (The Listen-Up Web!): A list of resources for educational interpreting, http://www.listen-up.org/h_books/interpre.htm.

RID's Interpreting in Educational Settings: This site requires Adobe Acrobat Reader. Discusses the role of the educational interpreter, interpreter's responsibilities, supervision of interpreters, qualifications, compensation, and more, http://www.rid.org/UserFiles/File/pdfs/124.pdf.

Legal

Interpreting in Legal Settings: Has numerous links for Interpreters in legal setting including to Legal Rights: Interpreter Competence (NAD), National Association of Judiciary Interpreters and Translators, ASL Interpreters Court Interpreting Resource Information, http://www.deaflinx.com/Interpreting/legal_terp.html.

Sign Language Associates, Inc: A private company that provides interpreters. It has job opportunities, list of events with interpreters, mentorship program, and a place to request services, http://www.purple.us/on-site_interpreting/.

Medical

American Sign Language Medical Glossary: This is a link to MSU Sign language browser, but it has divided the terms in to medical categories like Anatomy, Clothing and Dressing, Daily Living, and Hospital and Sickroom, http://www.angelfire.com/pa3/ecarpenter/Topics.htm.

Real Issue of Health Care Interpreting: Informed Consent: This link discusses the role of the interpreter in a health care situation, http://www.deafened.org/infcnsnt.htm.

RID's Interpreting in Medical Settings: This site requires Adobe Acrobat Reader. Discusses the role of the interpreter in medical setting, interpreter's responsibilities, supervision of interpreters, qualifications, compensation, and more, http://www.rid.org/UserFiles/File/pdfs/Standard_Practice_Papers/Drafts_June_2006/Health_Care_Settings_SPP.pdf.

Sign Language Associates, Inc: A private company that provides interpreters. It has job opportunities, list of events with interpreters, mentorship program, and a place to request services, http://www.purple.us/on-site_interpreting/.

Mental Health

RID's Interpreting in Mental Health Settings: This site requires Adobe Acrobat Reader. It discusses the role of the interpreter in a mental health setting, interpreter's responsibilities, supervision of interpreters, qualifications, compensation, and more, http://www.rid.org/UserFiles/File/pdfs/Standard_Practice_Papers/Mental_Health_SPP.pdf

Other

The Interpreter's Friend: This site provides information on signing in sport settings, dealing with technical/specialized topics (physics, elements, elementary particles, Greek alphabet, signs for technical/specialized vocabulary), the different Jewish services, and sign for religious/spiritual vocabulary. It also has sections on Multiculturalism, Professional development, and list of workshops, http://www.theinterpretersfriend.org/.

Sign Language Interpreting: This looks at sign interpreting in general as well interpreting in different settings, http://www.deaflinx.com/Interpreting/terp.html.

Political

Vocabulary List For History, Political Science, and Warfare: This lists many different signs that could be useful to someone interpreting in a political setting including the words: bi-partisan, boycott, policy, impeach, elect, rule, tax, and many more, http://www.theinterpretersfriend.org/tech/vocab/vl/history.html.

Religious

D.E.A.F Deaf Evangelical Agencies in the Fellowship for Christ: Has D.E.A.F resource lists and other religious related information, http://www.d-e-a-f.com/hc3.asp.

Deaf Missions Has an animated ASL dictionary for religious words and many other materials for the deaf or interpreters in a religious setting, http://www.deafmissions.com/.

The Interpreter's Friend: This site provides information on signing for the different Jewish services, books of the Christian and Jewish Bible, religious/spiritual vocabulary, and vocabulary by denomination or religion. It also has sections on multiculturalism, professional development, and list of workshops, http://www.theinterpretersfriend.org/.

Interpreting in Religious Settings: Has resources for interpreting in religious/spiritual setting. There are links for both Christian services and Jewish celebrations, deaf ministries, signed o

Deaf Culture

Associations

Alexander Graham Bell Association for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing(AGBell): This association was founded in 1890 by Bell, to offer programs and services in matters pertaining to hearing loss, http://www.agbell.org/.

American Deafness and Rehabilitation Association (ADARA): A nonprofit association made up of professionals and interested persons promoting and participating in quality human service delivery to Deaf and Hard of Hearing persons, http://www.adara.org/

National Association of the Deaf: Largest organization representing persons who are deaf or hard of hearing, http://www.nad.org/.

South Carolina Association of the Deaf: Provides advocacy, resources and services for people who are deaf, http://www.scadservices.org/

Educational Institutions

Gallaudet University: Provides educational resources for deaf, hard of hearing, and hearing students including information ASL interpreting, http://www.gallaudet.edu/.

National Technical Institute for the Deaf: World's first and largest technological college for student who are deaf and hard of hearing. They also have programs in educational interpreting and education of students who are deaf or hard of hearing, http://www.ntid.rit.edu/.

Legal Rights/Resources

Americans With Disabilities Act: Homepage ADA website provides the legal standards of protection for people with disabilities, http://www.ada.gov/.

Children of Deaf Adult (CODA): Coda explains the legal rights of deaf adults when dealing with communicating with their child's school, http://coda-international.org/blog/

Laws that relate to Hiring Workers With Disabilities, Including Hearing Loss: An article that contains the laws that deal with employment of person with a hearing loss, http://clerccenter.gallaudet.edu/Clerc_Center/Information_and_Resources/Info_To_Go.html/020.html.

Medical Resources

Standards of Care for the Delivery of Mental Health Services...: This site requires Adobe Acrobat Reader. This file discusses the standards of care for the delivery of mental health services to the deaf and hard of hearing, http://www.nad.org/issues/health-care/mental-health-services.

Miscellaneous Resources

Deaf and Hard of Hearing: This is a good basic overview of issues related to the Deaf and Hard of Hearing Communities. Includes brief sections on attention getters, lip readers, speech, sign language, interpreters, http://www.csun.edu/~sp20558/dis/deaf.html.

Periodicals/ Magazines

Odyssey Magazine: New Directions in Deaf Education: from the Clerc National Deaf Education Center at Gallaudet University, http://www.gallaudet.edu/clerc_center/information_and_resources/products_and_publications/odyssey.html.

Service Related Resources

Captioned Media Program: Free-loan media, resources, open-captioned program funded by the U.S. Department of Education available to Deaf and hard of hearing persons, teachers, and parents, http://www.dcmp.org/

Communication Access Network-CAN Interpreters: Provides comprehensive communications services to its customers through a network of Interpreters, Captioners and Independent Consultants, http://caninterpreters.com/.

Dawn Sign Press: DawnSignPress has ASL and Deaf culture titles available, http://www.dawnsignpress.com/.

Harris Communications: Has assistive products designed for deaf and hard-of-hearing people. Including books, videos, equipment and novelties. Phone (800) 825-9187 TTY - (800) 825-6758 Voice - e-mail mail@harriscomm.com

Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (RID): List interpreters for different activities, http://www.rid.org/.

Relay South Carolina: Service provides access to telephone communications for individuals who need assistance, http://www.relaysouthcarolina.com/.

South Carolina Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (SCRID): SCRID serves the interpreters, interpreter students and the Deaf Community of South Carolina, http://scrid.homestead.com/index.html.

Related Topics

Children of Deaf Parents

Children of Deaf Adult (CODA): An organization formed to connect children of deaf adults as well as provide resources for deaf parents of a hearing child, http://coda-international.org/blog/.

Cochlear Implants

Cochlear Implant Awareness Foundation: http://www.ciafonline.org/

Cochlear Implant Education Center: Associated with Gallaudet University, the center's website provides information on Cochlear implants, http://clerccenter.gallaudet.edu/Clerc_Center/Information_and_Resources/Cochlear_Implant_Education_Center.html/faq.html.

Deafness Research Foundation: Has latest research information on hearing and hearing-loss. Includes sections on Cochlear implants, hearing aids, newborn hearing screening, and other research topics, http://www.drf.org/.

Sound and Fury: A website about the PBS TV program Sound and Fury. The program is about the debate in the deaf/hearing world over Cochlear implants. The website has video clips, sections on deaf culture, Cochlear Implants, lesson plans for schools, and resources. SCC owns a copy of the video,http://www.pbs.org/wnet/soundandfury/index.html.

Deaf/Blindness

Communication Access Network-CAN Interpreters: Provides comprehensive communications services (including for the deaf/blind) to its customers through a network of Interpreters, Captioners and Independent Consultants, http://caninterpreters.com/.

National Information Clearinghouse on Children who are deaf-blind: Has a wide range of information on topics related to deaf-blind child. A few of the topics are jobs, training, research, state resources, and publications, http://nationaldb.org/.

Links for Deaf-Blind topics: Gives links to the national organizations, deaf-blind information, regional and state resources, mailing list, international resources, and other valuable topics, http://nationaldb.org/.

Helen Keller Services for the Blind: Explains programs for children, adults, and seniors. They have a section on eye problems and the National Center For Deaf-Blind Youth & Adults. Information includes training, employment opportunities, newsletters, state resources, and other related links, http://www.helenkeller.org/.

South Carolina Deafblind Project: Information on the project in South Carolina to provide technical assistance to families, teachers, professionals serving children and young people with deaf blindness, http://www.scsdb.k12.sc.us/Deaf_Blind/deaf_blind_index.html.

Families of Deaf Children

Beginnings: A non-profit agency aimed at meeting the needs of families with children who are deaf or hard-of-hearing, http://www.ncbegin.org/.

Hard of Hearing Community

Help for Hearing Loss: Hearing Loss Web is for people who are not traditional members of the Deaf Community such as the hearing impaired, hard of hearing, late deafened, and oral deaf. Has information on topics including hearing aides, insurance, employment, medical, service dogs, and technology, http://www.hearinglossweb.com/.

Hearing Loss Association of America: A wide range of hearing loss information including Cochlear Implant, facts about hearing loss, and articles relating to hearing loss, http://www.hearingloss.org/.

Miscellaneous Topics

Interpreting...Carpal Tunnel Syndrome: This is a link to an article about someone experiencing Carpal Tunnel Syndrome because of signing, http://deafness.about.com/cs/interpretgeneral/a/interpretinjury.htm.

RID's Cumulative Motion Injury: This site requires Adobe Acrobat Reader. Discusses how sign language can potentially injury a person wrists. It explains ways of preventing injury, http://www.deaflinx.com/Interpreting/cmi.html.

Oral Deaf (lip readers/speakers)

Oral Deaf Education: Discusses using hearing aids and cochlear implants to teach deaf and heard of hearing children to talk, http://www.oraldeafed.org/.

Oral Transliteration: This site requires Adobe Acrobat Reader. Discusses oral interpreting or lip reading, http://www.rid.org/UserFiles/File/pdfs/Standard_Practice_Papers/Drafts_June_2006/Oral_Transliteration_SPP.pdf.

Oral Transliteration Exam Process: RID's exam to become certified as an oral transliterator, http://www.rid.org/education/testing/index.cfm/AID/88.

Speech: A Sight to Behold: Discusses the computer-generated human head "Baldy" that assists in teaching people to read lips, http://scicom.ucsc.edu/SciNotes/9601/Speech/00Intro.html.

Research

Deafness Research Foundation: Has latest research information on hearing and hearing-loss. Includes sections on Cochlear implants, hearing aids, newborn hearing screening, and other research topics, http://www.drf.org/.

Sub-cultures of the Deaf

Deaf and Hard of Hearing in Government (DHHIG): A national non-profit organization of deaf and hard of hearing employees of the Federal Government that provides a support system and resources, http://www.dhhig.org/.

National Asian Deaf Congress: This organization helps promote cultural and ethnic pride for Asian deaf and hard of hearing Americans, their families, and prospective communities, http://nadcongress.org/.

NBDA: The National Black Deaf Advocates organization promotes issues, rights, and culture of the African American Deaf.

Back to Top


Using Panopto to Record Yourself

Panopto is the recording tool that most ASL/interpreting students are now using at SCC to record themselves signing (for an assignment) and then to share the recording with their teacher (i.e. turn it in).

You can come to the SCC campus to use this program, or you can download the recorder for youself at home. The SCC Library and the TLC both have the recorder downloaded on a computer for you to use.

If you would like to download the recorder youself, here are both an instruction handout and video:

The first time you log into Panopto, you may have to enter sccsc\ before your normal Portal username. Example: sccsc\jrsmith

The password should be the same as the password you use to log into the Portal.

Below are a video and handout on using Panopto to record yourself:

Back to Top


Untitled 1

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us using the form on our homepage (http://library.sccsc.edu) and we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Normal Reference Desk Hours: Mon-Thurs 7:30am - 9pm, Fri 7:30am - 1:30pm, Sat 9am - 1pm

Reference Desk Phone Number: Main-Spartanburg Campus (864) 592-4654, Cherokee Campus (864) 206-2656, Tyger River Campus (864) 592-6220

Back to Top