Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

 
Ask-A-Librarian Logo

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects

Research Guide: General Religion Resources

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Religion & Philosophy Collectionpascal icon
Covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.With more than 300 full-text journals.
Gale Power Search
Search 12 different databases at once!
A good place to search for almost any topic - covers a wide range of subject areas.
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results)
Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File).
Academic Search Premier
Search many different topics - covers a wide range of subject areas.
Be sure to check the "Full-Text" box before you search.

Back to Top

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
Atlas of the World's Religions Reference  BL80.2 .A84 2007
The Encyclopedia of Religion Reference BL31 .E46 16 vols.
Essential Judaism Reference  BM561 .R58 2000
A History of Judaism Reference BM155.2 .H57 2 vols.
Illustrated Guide to World Religions Reference BL80.2 .I434 2003
Matthew Henry's Commentary on the Whole Bible Reference BS491.2 .H46 2008
Merriam Webster's Encyclopedia of World Religions Reference BL31 .M47 1999
Muslim Almanac Reference BP40 .M83 1996
Religions of the World Reference BL80.3 .R45 2002 4 vols
The Sacred Origins of Profound Things Reference BL425 .P36 1996

 

Example Subject Terms: religions, buddhism, islam, buddha, mohammed, etc.

Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
eBrary (Proquest)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) -- completely electronic
Find More Books...

Back to Top

Find Websites...

Belief Net: Profiles of world religions, news, and special features, http://www.beliefnet.com.

Virtual Religion Index: Contains links to Biblical Studies, Buddhist Studies, Christian Tradition, Comparative Religion, East Asian Studies, Ethics and Moral Values, Hindu Studies, Islamic Studies, Jewish Studies, Philosophy and Theology, and Psychology of Religion, http://virtualreligion.net/vri/.

The Association of Religion Data Archives: http://www.thearda.com/rcms2010/

Back to Top

Find Videos...

Films on Demand
Educational videos available via streaming to anywhere (off-campus must login with Portal username and password). Topics include AMT/IMT topics, customer service, and computer information. If you experience any problems, please call the library at 592-4654.
Hint: Click on the link for "Philosophy & Religion" on the left, under 'All Search Results'

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Normal Central Campus Reference Desk Hours: Mon-Thurs 7:30am - 9pm, Fri 7:30am - 1:30pm, Sat 9am - 1pm

Reference Desk Phone Number: Central-Spartanburg Campus (864) 592-4654, Cherokee Campus (864) 206-2656, Tyger River Campus (864) 592-6220, Downtown Campus (864) 592-4058

Back to Top

Last updated: 06/19/14