Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects

Research Guide: General Radiation Protection Resources

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Journal of Radiological Protection
Official journal of the Society of Radiological Protection.
Associates Programs Source
Contains full-text journals and books. Covers many technical and 2-year programs.
Gale Power Search
Search 12 different databases at once!
A good place to search for almost any topic - covers a wide range of subject areas.
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results)
Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File).
EBSCO General Databases
Search 10 databases at once: Academic Search Premier, TOPICsearch, MasterFILE Premier, Military & Government Collection, MAS Ultra - School Edition, Vocational and Career Collection, Associates Programs Source, Newspaper Source Plus, GreenFILE, and News (AP, UPI, etc.) Collection. Find journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

Back to Top

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
Health Risks from Exposure to Low Levels of Ionizing Radiation : BEIR VII Phase 2 Cherokee Reference RA1231 .R2 H395 2006
An Introduction to Radiation Protection Cherokee Reference RA569 .M37 2006
Optimization of Radiation Protection in the Control of Occupational Exposure Cherokee Reference RC965 .R25 O68 2002
Physics for Radiation Protection: A Handbook Cherokee Reference R895 .M27 2006
Principles of Radiological Health and Safety Cherokee Reference RA569 .M375 2003
Radiation Protection and Radioactive Waste Management in the Operation of Nuclear Power Plants: Safety Guide Cherokee Reference TK9152 .R23 2002
Radiation Protection Aspects of Design for Nuclear Power Plants Cherokee Reference TH4581 .R26 2005
Radiation Protection : A Guide for Scientists, Regulators, and Physicians Cherokee Reference RA569 .S5 2002

 

Example Subject Headings: Health Physics, Occupational Exposure, Radiation Protection, Radiation

Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
Ebook Central (Proquest)pascal resource
Search entire books available online.
Find More Books...

Back to Top

Rad. Protection Journals...

Print Journals Available at the Cherokee Campus Library...

  • Health Physics
  • Health Physics News
  • Journal of Radiological Protection
  • Operational Radiation Safety

Electronic Journals

Back to Top

Find Websites...

American Academy of Health Physics: http://www.hps1.org/aahp

American Nuclear Society: http://www.ans.org

Energy Information Administration: U.S. Data about Nuclear Energy, http://www.eia.doe.gov/fuelnuclear.html

Health Physics Society: http://www.hps.org

Institute of Nuclear Power Operations (INPO): http://www.inpo.info/

International Atomic Energy Agency: http://www.iaea.org

National Radon Safety Board: http://www.nrsb.org

National Registry of Radiation Protection Technologists: http://www.nrrpt.org

Nuclear Energy Institute: http://www.nei.org

Nuclear Regulatory Commission: http://www.nrc.gov

Oak Ridge Associated Universities: Publications: http://www.orau.org/about-orau/publications.aspx

Office of Scientific and Technical Information: http://www.osti.gov

US Department of Energy: http://www.energy.gov

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 02/09/16