Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects

Research Guide: Political Science

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

OFF CAMPUS ACCESS: username is your Web ID (ex: absmith), and the password is your portal password.

General Databases

Academic Search Premier
Search many different topics - covers a wide range of subject areas.
Be sure to check the "Full-Text" box before you search.
Gale Power Search (previously Gale Database Articles or Gale Full Database List)
Search 12 different databases at once!
A good place to search for almost any topic - covers a wide range of subject areas.
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results)
Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File).

Controversial Databases

Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Find articles on many of today's hottest topics.
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results)
Remember "Viewpoints" means the essay is biased towards the author's opinion.
Points of View
Contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including more than 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
Issues & Controversies
Find reports on many controversial issues, including immigration.
Good source of background information on various issues.
Notice the links in the sidebar on the left side of the page of every report: viewpoints, related articles, key news events, overviews, etc.

MLA Citation - Issues & Controversies

"Immigration Policy." Issues and Controversies, Infobase Learning, 8 Apr. 2013.

International Issues / Country Research Databases

Gale Global Issues in Context
Articles from reference books, academic journals, magazines, newspapers on international issues, perspectives from different countries, and current events.

History Databases

EBSCO History List
Search 3 databases at once! History Reference Center, Military & Gov't Collection, European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750. Covers U.S. and World History.

See All Databases

Back to Top

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
The Oxford handbook of American political parties and interest groups Stacks JK2261 .O75 2010
IPolitics : citizens, elections, and governing in the new media era Stacks JK1764 .I75 2012
U.S. election system Stacks JK1976 .U217 2004
American government and politics today : the essentials Stacks JK276 .B36 2010
Political parties, campaigns, and elections Stacks JK2281 .D53 2000
Electoral college reform : challenges and possibilities Stacks JK529 .E54 2010
Historical Dictionary of United States Political Parties eBook Collection View E-Book
Politics : The Basics eBook Collection View E-Book
American Political Parties and Elections : A Very Short Introduction eBook Collection View E-Book
The State of the Parties : The Changing Role of Contemporary American Parties eBook Collection View E-Book
Parties and Elections in America : The Electoral Process eBook Collection View E-Book
Dilemmas in American Politics : Two Parties--Or More? : The American Party System (2nd Edition) ebrary View E-Book
American Politics and Society (8th Edition) ebrary View E-Book
Everything American Government Book : From the Constitution to Present-Day Elections, All You Need to Understand Our Democratic System ebrary View E-Book
The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science Credo View E-Book
The Essentials of Global Politics Credo View E-Book

Call Numbers

  • JA1-92 (Political science)
  • JC11-605 (Political theory)
  • JK1-9993 (Political institutions and public administration. United States)
  • JS300-1583 (Local government. Municipal government. United States )
  • JZ5-6530 (International relations)

Subject Headings

Subject headings: Elections - United States. Political movements. Political science. Political parties. Political systems. Politics and government. Public law. Right and left (Political science). United States - Politics and government. Voting - United States. World politics.

Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
Ebook Central (Proquest)pascal resource
Search entire books available online.
Find More Books...

Back to Top

Find Websites...

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services: Professional organization for the study of political science and to expand awareness and understanding of politics, http://www.apsanet.org/.

International Studies Association (ISA): Founded in 1959 to pursue mutual interests in International Studies. Represents eighty countries, ISA has over four thousand members worldwide and is a widely known scholarly association in this field, http://www.isanet.org/.

General political science websites

Project Vote Smart: A non-partisan effort to provide unbiased information on candidates and issues, http://www.votesmart.org/.

Politico.com: Describes itself as a nonpartisan, Washington-based political journalism organization that serves as the one-stop shop for the fastest, most in-depth coverage of the White House, Congress, politics and policies, http://www.politico.com/.

FactCheck.org : A project of the Annenburg Public Policy Center at the University of Pennsylvania. The website checks the accuracy of claims made by politicians and political groups, http://www.factcheck.org/.

Brookings Institute: Its stated mission is to "provide innovative and practical recommendations that advance three broad goals: strengthen American democracy; foster the economic and social welfare, security and opportunity of all Americans; and secure a more open, safe, prosperous, and cooperative international system," http://www.brookings.edu/.

ANES: American National Election Studies: Contains data on voting, public opinion, and political participation for those who want to better understand the theoretical and empirical foundations of national election outcomes. Includes national survey data since 1948 on the American electorate, http://www.electionstudies.org/.

Congressional Quarterly Weekly Report: Includes in-depth reports on current congressional issues, plus a wrap up the previous week's news, including the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates and all roll-call votes, http://library.cqpress.com/cqweekly/.

OpenSecrets.org: The Center for Responsive Politics is the nation's premier research group tracking money in U.S. politics and its effect on elections and public policy. Nonpartisan, independent and nonprofit, the organization aims “to create a more educated voter, an involved citizenry and a more transparent and responsive government”, http://www.opensecrets.org/.

Government websites

USA.gov: Official web portal for the United States government. Includes federal, state, and local government resources, a guide to government agencies, online services, etc., http://www.usa.gov/.

U.S. Government Manual: This is the official handbook of the Federal Government with comprehensive and authoritative descriptions of the programs and activities of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches, http://usgovernmentmanual.gov/.

THOMAS: Legislative Information on the Internet: Features information on current legislation in the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, the Congressional Record, and provides links to Committee reports, https://www.congress.gov/.

International political science

Background Notes: Facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty, http://www.state.gov/r/pa/ei/bgn.

World Factbook (Central Intelligence Agency): Features country information, including geography, economics and political conditions, https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/index.html.

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 06/02/17