Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects

Research Guide: General Music Resources

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Gale Power Search
Search 12 different databases at once!
A good place to search for almost any topic - covers a wide range of subject areas.
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results)
Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File).
Academic Search Premier
Search many different topics - covers a wide range of subject areas.
Be sure to check the "Full-Text" box before you search.

Back to Top

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
The New Grove dictionary of music and musicians Reference ML100 .N48 1980 (20 volumes)
The great composers, their lives and times Reference ML390 .C7185 1990 (5 volumes)
Sounds and sweet airs : the forgotten women of classical music Stacks ML390 .S686 2016
African American music : an introduction Stacks ML3556 .A34 2015
The lives and times of the great composers Reference
 Stacks
ML390 .S8 2004
The lives and times of the great composers Downtown
Tyger River
ML390 .S8 2004
How to listen to great music : a guide to its history, culture, and heart Stacks MT6 .G76 2011
How music works : the science and psychology of beautiful sounds, from Beethoven to the Beatles and beyond Stacks ML3805 .P69 2010

 

Example Subject Terms: Beethoven, music, etc.

Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
Ebook Central (Proquest)pascal resource
Search entire books available online.
Find More Books...

Back to Top

Find Websites...

Production Music Association: http://pmamusic.com/

National Association of Record Industry Professionals: http://www.narip.com/

Library of Congress Recorded Sound Reference Center: http://lcweb.loc.gov/rr/record/

National Public Radio: http://www.npr.org

The All Music Guide (Popular Music): http://www.allmusic.com/

Metropolitan Opera, New York City: http://www.metopera.org/

New York Philharmonic Orchestra: http://nyphil.org/

Boston Pops--Boston Symphony Orchestra: http://www.bso.org/

The Classical Music Navigator: http://www.wku.edu/~smithch/music/

Billboard Music: http://www.billboard.com

Need Lyrics? Just Google -- www.google.com -- and search for the song name followed by the word 'lyrics'

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 07/31/17