Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects

Research Guide: Legal Research

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Off Campus Access: username is your Web ID (ex: absmith), and the password is your portal password.

Gale Power Search
Search 12 different databases at once!
A good place to search for almost any topic - covers a wide range of subject areas.
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results)
Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File).
EBSCO General Databases
Search 10 databases at once: Academic Search Premier, TOPICsearch, MasterFILE Premier, Military & Government Collection, MAS Ultra - School Edition, Vocational and Career Collection, Associates Programs Source, Newspaper Source Plus, GreenFILE, and News (AP, UPI, etc.) Collection. Find journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

Back to Top

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
Black's law dictionary Reference KF156 .B53 2014
Introduction to business law Stacks KF390 .B84 B43 2013
NALA manual for paralegals and legal assistants Stacks KF320 .L4 N34 2015
Legal research, analysis, and writing Stacks KF240 .H36 2015
Gale encyclopedia of everyday law (2013) GVRL View E-Book

 

Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
Ebook Central (Proquest)pascal resource
Search entire books available online.
Find More Books...

Back to Top

Find Websites...

Google Scholar: click "legal opinions and journals;" search by the name of the court case or by topic.

Justia.com: Legal information on different legal practice areas, including business law. Also provides access to all US Federal appellate cases since 1950. Browse by series, circuit, and year. Limited full-text searching.

South Carolina Judicial Department

SC Code of Laws: provides searchable access to the SC Code of Laws. Some changes may take place immediately during any sitting of the SC Legislature.

Project of The South Carolina Centers for Equal Justice: Includes information about rights and legal responsibilities in over a dozen areas of law.

Emory Law: Has US Constitution current through 1995.

Cornell Law - Uniform Commercial Code: contains legal information concerning business and commercial subject areas. The SC Commercial Code appears to be current up until 2000.

Small Business Administration (SBA): contains legal information pertaining to small businesses.

FindLaw.com: provides legal information for legal professionals, businesses and general public.

LawCrawler.com: Search engine for finding general legal information.

EEOLaw.com: Public service site with links to US and state resources for Equal Employment Opportunity Law.

Findlaw Constitutional Legal Center: contains Supreme Court cases.

EEOC - Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

US Dept. of Labor

National Labor Relations Board

The Supreme Court Database: Extensive information about every case the Supreme Court decided between the 1946 and 2012 terms, http://scdb.wustl.edu/.

Congress.gov: Formally Thomas.gov (which is being phased into this site in 2014), this site has information about legislation, congressional records, committee information and reports, members of Congress (since 1973), and general information on the legislative process, https://www.congress.gov/.

National Security Archive: based at George Washington University; non-profit, non-government archive of declassified U.S. government documents, http://www2.gwu.edu/~nsarchiv/.

OpenSecrets.org: by the Center for Response Politics, a research group that tracks money in U.S. politics and how that money effects elections and public policy, http://www.opensecrets.org.

GovTrak.Us: keep up with the current activity in Congress, track representatives, research pending legislation, https://www.govtrack.us.

Patents and Trademarks

U.S. Patent and Trademark Office: provides information about copyrights, trademarks, patents, and intellectual rights.

Google Patent Search

Patent Scope: search 35 million patent documents including 2.2 million published international patent applications.

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 08/18/16