Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects

Research Guide: General Interpreter Training / ASL Resources

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Gale Power Search
Search 12 different databases at once!
A good place to search for almost any topic - covers a wide range of subject areas.
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results)
Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File).
EBSCO General Databases
Search 10 databases at once. Find journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
This database has full-text articles from American Annals of the Deaf published by Gallaudet University.
EBSCO Education Databases
Search 4 databases at once! ERIC, Teacher Reference Center, Professional Development, and Education Full Text. Academic journals, news, reports, etc. in teaching and education.

Back to Top

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
American Sign Language handshape dictionary Reference HV2475 .T46 2010
Teach me vocabulary in American Sign Language. Level one. DVD Stacks HV2476.4 .T4 2011
Fingerspelling practice videos  4 DVDsStacks HV2477 .F57 2009
Educational interpreting practice DVD. DVD ten, Secondary level-- ASL Stacks HV2402 .E48 2012 V.10
Deaf/blind communication and community. 2 DVDs. Stacks HV1597 .S65 2009
ASL practice series. 8 DVDs Stacks HV2474 .A447 2006
ASL Pah! : deaf students' perspectives on their language. DVD Stacks HV2474 .A43 1992
Mouth morphemes in American Sign Language. DVD Stacks HV2402 .M67 1996

 

Example Subject Headings: sign language, translating and interpreting, interpreters for the deaf, American Sign Language

Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
eBrary (Proquest)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) -- completely electronic
Find More Books...

Back to Top

Find Websites...

Website Categories (Table of Contents)


General Websites

Deaf Mosaic (Videos)

Deaf Mosaic: Video series produced by Gallaudet University.

Associations:

National Black Deaf Advocates (NBDA): The official advocacy organization for thousands of Black Deaf and Hard of Hearing Americans. For more than three decades, NBDA has been at the forefront of advocacy efforts for civil rights and equal access to education, employment, and social services on behalf of the Black Deaf and Hard of Hearing in the United States, http://www.nbda.org/

Mano a Mano: Is a non-profit, volunteer-driven organization. In order to be successful, Mano a Mano needs your participation and your unique perspective. We value what every person and organization brings to the table - whether they be a working trilingual interpreter, a developing interpreter, or an organizational ally, http://www.manoamano-unidos.org/

Deaf Interpreter Institute : A learning, sharing, and networking site for Deaf Interpreters (DI), interpreters who work with Deaf Interpreters, DI educators and mentors, interpreting education program faculty and administrators, and people who use the services of DIs, http://www.diinstitute.org/

American Deafness and Rehabilitation Association (ADARA): A nonprofit association made up of professionals and interested persons promoting and participating in quality human service delivery to Deaf and Hard of Hearing persons, http://www.adara.org/

Council of Education of the Deaf (CED): Part of the Deaf Education website. CED provides information on certification process, by laws, standards, and other important information, http://www.deafed.net/PageText.asp?hdnPageId=58

National Association of the Deaf : Largest organization representing persons who are deaf or hard of hearing, http://www.nad.org/

South Carolina Association of the Deaf: Provides advocacy, resources and services for people who are deaf, http://www.scadservices.org/

Career & Employment Information:

American Deafness and Rehabilitation Association (ADARA): A nonprofit association made up of professionals and interested persons promoting and participating in quality human service delivery to Deaf and Hard of Hearing persons, http://www.adara.org/

Deaf Education: Provides a place for educators to post resumes and search for jobs as well as allows employers to post jobs and search the resumes, http://www.deafed.net/

Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (RID): RID is an national organization that serves interpreters, interpreter students and the Deaf community, http://www.rid.org/

South Carolina Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (SCRID): SCRID serves the interpreters, interpreter students and the Deaf Community of South Carolina, http://www.southcarolinarid.org/

Connecting to the ITP Community

Deaf Education: Has both bulletin boards and list serves that Interpreters can become members of, http://www.deafed.net/

Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (RID): Find an interpreter/Member, http://www.rid.org/

Educational Institutions

Deaf Education: Has links for a search engine, Deaf Ed. Teacher Preparation, Deaf Ed. Job Bank, Calendar of Events, Bulletin Boards, Scholarship and Grant Information, http://www.deafed.net/.

Gallaudet University: Provides educational resources for deaf, hard of hearing, and hearing students including information ASL interpreting, http://www.gallaudet.edu/.

EKU Interpreter Training Program Eastern Kentucky University: Offers four year degrees and workshops in Interpreting, http://www.interpreting.eku.edu/.

National Technical Institute for the Deaf: World's first and largest technological college for student who are deaf and hard of hearing. They also have programs in educational interpreting and education of students who are deaf or hard of hearing, http://www.ntid.rit.edu/.

The National Consortium of Interpreter Education Centers: aims to expand and enhance the effectiveness of the interpreting workforce through education and professional development services and resources offered regionally and nationally, http://www.interpretereducation.org/.

Gallaudet University Regional Interpreter Education Center: GURIEC is a member of the National Consortium of Interpreter Education Centers. We are dedicated to advancing the field of interpreter education and increasing the size, diversity, and skillsets of interpreters in the United States, http://www.gallaudet.edu/guriec.html.

Miscellaneous Resources

How to Become an Interpreter: Explains what interpreting is, what is needed to be considered a professional interpreter, where you can get a degree in sign language interpreting, how to use an interpreter, and what you should know about deafness, http://www.deaflinx.com/Interpreting/howterp.html.

Sign Language (ASL)

American Sign Language Browser: Has a large list of words and tells in words how to do the sign, http://commtechlab.msu.edu/sites/aslweb/browser.htm.

HandSpeak: One of the largest visual language dictionary online. Has signs by alphabetical listing and by categories. Even has stories in sign, http://www.handspeak.com/.

Supplies (Materials)

Captioned Media Program: Free-loan media, resources, open-captioned program funded by the U.S. Department of Education available to Deaf and hard of hearing persons, teachers, and parents, http://www.dcmp.org/Default.aspx?AspxAutoDetectCookieSupport=1

Dawn Sign Press: DawnSignPress has ASL and Deaf culture titles available, http://www.dawnsignpress.com/.

Harris Communications: This site has assistive products designed for deaf and hard-of-hearing people. Including books, videos, equipment and novelties, http://www.harriscomm.com/

Interpreting (Specific Settings)

Artistic

Interpreting in Drama & Musical Settings: Has several links to organizations that are involved with providing interpretation for cultural events, http://www.deaflinx.com/Interpreting/perfterp.html.

Sign Language Interpreting Theatre: Discusses using interpreters (compensation, legal issues, audience development) in the theatre and includes a discussion list, http://terptheatre.com/.

D-PAN, The Deaf Professional Arts Network: An internationally-known nonprofit organization dedicated to making music and music culture accessible for the deaf and hard of hearing community, http://d-pan.com/

Deaf Art: Deaf Art was intended to be a resource for anyone interested in Deaf Art, particularly the category defined by Deaf View/Image Art (De'VIA), http://www.deafart.org/

National Theatre of the Deaf: A touring theater group composed of deaf and hearing actors who entertain audiences worldwide through music, sign language, and the spoken word, http://www.ntd.org/

Educational

National Technical Institute for the Deaf: The National Technical Institute for the Deaf is one of the nine colleges of Rochester Institute of Technology, a leading career-oriented, technological university recognized by U.S. News & World Report as one of America's "Best College Values," and by The Princeton Review as one of the top 20 colleges nationwide for "Best Career Services.", http://www.ntid.rit.edu/.

Legal

Interpreting in Legal Settings: Has numerous links for Interpreters in legal setting including to Legal Rights: Interpreter Competence (NAD), National Association of Judiciary Interpreters and Translators, ASL Interpreters Court Interpreting Resource Information, http://www.deaflinx.com/Interpreting/legal_terp.html.

Purple Communications: Has always been committed to providing the best products and services to customers. This commitment led to several mergers and acquisitions due to growth initiatives and customer demand, including Hands On Sign Language Service, Verizon IP-Relay, GoAmerica (formerly Wyndtell) and Hands on VRS (HOVRS), http://www.purple.us/onsite.

Medical

Deaf Health: To provide clear and concise health education in American Sign Language to promote the overall wellness of the Deaf & Hard of Hearing community, http://www.deafhealth.org/

Deaf Wellness Center: YouTube videos on Health related topics, http://www.youtube.com/user/DeafWellnessCenter/videos

Mental Health

The National Association of the Deaf (NAD): NAD is the nation's premier civil rights organization of, by and for deaf and hard of hearing individuals in the United States of America, http://nad.org/issues/health-care/mental-health-services

SC Department of Mental Health - Deaf Services: The mission of Services to Deaf and Hard of Hearing People within the South Carolina Department of Mental Health is to provide a statewide system of care for the delivery of mental health services which promote recovery and allow enhanced mental functioning for Adults, Children and Families where Deafness presents a significant cultural and/or linguistic barrier, http://www.scdmh.org/deafmh/

Other

The Interpreter's Friend: This site provides information on signing in sport settings, dealing with technical/specialized topics (physics, elements, elementary particles, Greek alphabet, signs for technical/specialized vocabulary), the different Jewish services, and sign for religious/spiritual vocabulary. It also has sections on Multiculturalism, Professional development, and list of workshops, http://www.theinterpretersfriend.org/.

Sign Language Interpreting: This looks at sign interpreting in general as well interpreting in different settings, http://www.deaflinx.com/Interpreting/terp.html.

Political

Vocabulary List For History, Political Science, and Warfare: This lists many different signs that could be useful to someone interpreting in a political setting including the words: bi-partisan, boycott, policy, impeach, elect, rule, tax, and many more, http://www.theinterpretersfriend.org/tech/vocab/vl/history.html.

The World Federation of the Deaf (WFD): WFD is an international non-governmental organization representing approximately 70 million Deaf people worldwide. It is estimated that more than 80 percent of these 70 million live in developing countries, where authorities are rarely familiar with their needs or desires, http://wfdeaf.org/

Religious

D.E.A.F Deaf Evangelical Agencies in the Fellowship for Christ: http://www.gmdeaf.org/education/education.html.

Deaf Missions Has an animated ASL dictionary for religious words and many other materials for the deaf or interpreters in a religious setting, http://www.deafmissions.com/.

The Interpreter's Friend: This site provides information on signing for the different Jewish services, books of the Christian and Jewish Bible, religious/spiritual vocabulary, and vocabulary by denomination or religion. It also has sections on multiculturalism, professional development, and list of workshops, http://www.theinterpretersfriend.org/.

Interpreting in Religious Settings: Has resources for interpreting in religious/spiritual setting. There are links for both Christian services and Jewish celebrations, deaf ministries, signed o

Deaf Culture

Associations

American Deafness and Rehabilitation Association (ADARA): A nonprofit association made up of professionals and interested persons promoting and participating in quality human service delivery to Deaf and Hard of Hearing persons, http://www.adara.org/

National Association of the Deaf: Largest organization representing persons who are deaf or hard of hearing, http://www.nad.org/.

South Carolina Association of the Deaf: Provides advocacy, resources and services for people who are deaf, http://www.scadservices.org/

Educational Institutions

Gallaudet University: Provides educational resources for deaf, hard of hearing, and hearing students including information ASL interpreting, http://www.gallaudet.edu/.

National Technical Institute for the Deaf: World's first and largest technological college for student who are deaf and hard of hearing. They also have programs in educational interpreting and education of students who are deaf or hard of hearing, http://www.ntid.rit.edu/.

Legal Rights/Resources

Americans With Disabilities Act: Homepage ADA website provides the legal standards of protection for people with disabilities, http://www.ada.gov/.

Children of Deaf Adult (CODA): Coda explains the legal rights of deaf adults when dealing with communicating with their child's school, http://coda-international.org

Medical Resources

Standards of Care for the Delivery of Mental Health Services...: This site requires Adobe Acrobat Reader. This file discusses the standards of care for the delivery of mental health services to the deaf and hard of hearing, http://www.nad.org/issues/health-care/mental-health-services.

Miscellaneous Resources

National Center on Deafness: at California State University Northridge, http://www.csun.edu/ncod/home.html.

Service Related Resources

Captioned Media Program: Free-loan media, resources, open-captioned program funded by the U.S. Department of Education available to Deaf and hard of hearing persons, teachers, and parents, http://www.dcmp.org/

Dawn Sign Press: DawnSignPress has ASL and Deaf culture titles available, http://www.dawnsignpress.com/.

Harris Communications: Has assistive products designed for deaf and hard-of-hearing people. Including books, videos, equipment and novelties. Phone (800) 825-9187 TTY - (800) 825-6758 Voice - e-mail mail@harriscomm.com

Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (RID): List interpreters for different activities, http://www.rid.org/.

Relay South Carolina: Service provides access to telephone communications for individuals who need assistance, http://www.relaysouthcarolina.com/.

South Carolina Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf (SCRID): SCRID serves the interpreters, interpreter students and the Deaf Community of South Carolina, http://www.southcarolinarid.org/

Related Topics

Children of Deaf Parents

Children of Deaf Adult (CODA): An organization formed to connect children of deaf adults as well as provide resources for deaf parents of a hearing child, http://coda-international.org.

Cochlear Implants

Cochlear Implant Awareness Foundation: http://www.ciafonline.org/

Deafness Research Foundation: Has latest research information on hearing and hearing-loss. Includes sections on Cochlear implants, hearing aids, newborn hearing screening, and other research topics, http://www.drf.org/.

Deaf/Blindness

National Information Clearinghouse on Children who are deaf-blind: Has a wide range of information on topics related to deaf-blind child. A few of the topics are jobs, training, research, state resources, and publications, http://nationaldb.org/.

Links for Deaf-Blind topics: Gives links to the national organizations, deaf-blind information, regional and state resources, mailing list, international resources, and other valuable topics, http://nationaldb.org/.

Helen Keller Services for the Blind: Explains programs for children, adults, and seniors. They have a section on eye problems and the National Center For Deaf-Blind Youth & Adults. Information includes training, employment opportunities, newsletters, state resources, and other related links, http://www.helenkeller.org/.

South Carolina Deafblind Project: Information on the project in South Carolina to provide technical assistance to families, teachers, professionals serving children and young people with deaf blindness, http://www.scsdb.k12.sc.us/Deaf_Blind/deaf_blind_index.html.

Families of Deaf Children

Beginnings: A non-profit agency aimed at meeting the needs of families with children who are deaf or hard-of-hearing, http://www.ncbegin.org/.

Beginnings SC: A one-stop, unbiased, professional resource to help parents, teachers, and professionals select and link children who are deaf or hard of hearing to critical resources at the right time, http://scbegin.org/

American Society for Deaf Children: A national, independent non-profit organization whose purpose is providing support, encouragement, and information to families raising children who are deaf or hard of hearing, http://deafchildren.org/

Hands & Voices: Is dedicated to supporting families with children who are DHH without a bias around communication modes or methodology. We're a parent-driven, non-profit organization providing families with the resources, networks, and information they need to improve communication access and educational outcomes for their children, www.handsandvoices.org/

Hard of Hearing Community

Help for Hearing Loss: Hearing Loss Web is for people who are not traditional members of the Deaf Community such as the hearing impaired, hard of hearing, late deafened, and oral deaf. Has information on topics including hearing aides, insurance, employment, medical, service dogs, and technology, http://www.hearinglossweb.com/.

Hearing Loss Association of America: A wide range of hearing loss information including Cochlear Implant, facts about hearing loss, and articles relating to hearing loss, http://www.hearingloss.org/.

Alexander Graham Bell Association for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing(AGBell): This association was founded in 1890 by Bell, to offer programs and services in matters pertaining to hearing loss, http://www.agbell.org/.

Miscellaneous Topics

Interpreting...Carpal Tunnel Syndrome: This is a link to an article about someone experiencing Carpal Tunnel Syndrome because of signing, http://deafness.about.com/cs/interpretgeneral/a/interpretinjury.htm.

RID's Cumulative Motion Injury: This site requires Adobe Acrobat Reader. Discusses how sign language can potentially injury a person wrists. It explains ways of preventing injury, http://www.deaflinx.com/Interpreting/cmi.html.

Oral Deaf (lip readers/speakers)

Speech: A Sight to Behold: Discusses the computer-generated human head "Baldy" that assists in teaching people to read lips, http://scicom.ucsc.edu/SciNotes/9601/Speech/00Intro.html.

Research

Deafness Research Foundation: Has latest research information on hearing and hearing-loss. Includes sections on Cochlear implants, hearing aids, newborn hearing screening, and other research topics, http://www.drf.org/.

Sub-cultures of the Deaf

Deaf and Hard of Hearing in Government (DHHIG): A national non-profit organization of deaf and hard of hearing employees of the Federal Government that provides a support system and resources, http://www.dhhig.org/.

NBDA: The National Black Deaf Advocates organization promotes issues, rights, and culture of the African American Deaf.

Back to Top

Using Panopto to Record Yourself

Panopto is the recording tool that most ASL/interpreting students are now using at SCC to record themselves signing (for an assignment) and then to share the recording with their teacher (i.e. turn it in).

You can come to the SCC campus to use this program, or you can download the recorder for yourself at home. The SCC Library and the TLC both have the recorder downloaded on a computer for you to use.

If you would like to download the recorder yourself, here is an instruction handout:

The first time you log into Panopto, you may want to use this handout:

Below are handouts on using Panopto to record yourself and uploading videos to Panopto's Drop Box:

Back to Top

Untitled 1

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 08/04/16