Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects >> Industrial

Research Guide: AMT Resources

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Associates Programs Source
Contains full-text journals and books. Covers many technical and 2-year programs.
Gale Power Search
Search 12 different databases at once!
A good place to search for almost any topic - covers a wide range of subject areas.
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results)
Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File).
EBSCO General Databases
Search 10 databases at once: Academic Search Premier, TOPICsearch, MasterFILE Premier, Military & Government Collection, MAS Ultra - School Edition, Vocational and Career Collection, Associates Programs Source, Newspaper Source Plus, GreenFILE, and News (AP, UPI, etc.). Find journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

Back to Top

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
Robotics : A Reference Guild to New Technology Reference TJ211.A5475 2007
Mechanisms and Mechanical Devices Sourcebook Reference TJ 181.S28 2007
Mechatronics with experiments Stacks TJ163.12 .C43 2015
Applied Mechatronics Stacks TJ163.12 .S63 2008
Automated manufacturing systems : actuators, controls, sensors, and robotics Stacks TJ213 .M553 1995
Automation, production systems, and computer-integrated manufacturing Stacks TS183 .G76 2015
Introduction to control system technology Stacks TJ213 .B33 1999
Mechatronics : Principles and Applications eBook Collection View E-Book
Advanced Mechatronics : Monitoring and Control of Spatially Distributed Systems eBook Collection View E-Book
Robotics : State of the Art and Future Challenges eBook Collection View E-Book
System Dynamics : Modeling, Simulation, and Control of Mechatronic Systems (5th Edition) ebrary View E-Book
Robot Builder's Cookbook : Build and Design Your Own Robots (2nd Edition) ebrary View E-Book

 

Example Subject Terms: Automated manufacturing; Automatic control; Manufacturing processes – Automation; Mechanical engineering; Robotics.

Call Number Range: TJ (Mechanical Engineering & Machinery)

Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
eBrary (Proquest)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) -- completely electronic
Find More Books...

Back to Top

Find Websites...

Society of Manufacturing Engineers: http://www.sme.org/ama/

Robotics Online: News, statistics, and other information about the industry of robotics; run by a trade group called Robotics Industries Association

Professional Safety: Journal of the American Society of Safety Engineers; most of the content is for members only, but the columns/articles on the right side of the page appear to be freely available, http://www.asse.org/professionalsafety/.

Back to Top

Find Videos...

Library Catalog: Audiovisual Search:
Search for videos, audio books, CD-ROMs (software), and CDs that are located in the Audiovisual (AV) section of Spartanburg Community College Library. See a library staff member about requesting materials from a different campus.
Hint: Search "industrial safety" to find safety videos.
Films on Demand
Educational videos available via streaming to anywhere (off-campus must login with Portal username and password). If you experience any problems, please call the library at 592-4654.

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 04/06/17