Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects >> History

Research Guide: (HSS 205) History of Technology Resources

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
Encyclopedia of 20th-Century Technology Reference

E-Book
T9 .E462 2005
2 vols.
View E-Book
How it Works: Science and Technology Reference T9 .H738 2003
Great Events from History II Science and Technology Series Reference Q125 .G825 1991 5 vols.
The history of science and technology:  a browser's guide to the great discoveries, inventions, and the people who made them, from the dawn of time to today Reference Q125 .B945 2004
Milestones in Computer Science and Information Technology Reference QA76 .R434 2003
Scientists: The lives and works of 150 scientists Reference Q141 .S3717 1999 6 vols.
History of Science and Technology : A Browser's Guide to the Great Discoveries, Inventions, and the People Who Made Them, from the Dawn of Time to Today E-Book View E-Book
Routledge Companion Encyclopedias : An Encyclopedia of the History of Technology E-Book View E-Book
Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology E-Book View E-Book
Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology E-Book View E-Book

 

Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
eBrary (Proquest)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) -- completely electronic
Find More Books...

Back to Top

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Gale U.S. History in Context
Articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journal.
Salem Press History
--Includes reference sets Decades: 30's - 90's; The Ancient World, The Middle Ages, The Renaissance, The 17th Century, The 18th Century, The 19th Century, The 20th Century, The Fifties, Seventies and Eighties in America, Notorious Lives, Inventors and Inventions, and Milestone Documents in American History.
Academic Search Premier
Search many different topics - covers a wide range of subject areas.
Be sure to check the "Full-Text" box before you search.
eBook Collection
Collection of over 120,000 full text books online.

Back to Top

Citing / Plagiarism Resources...

Plagiarism: How to avoid it [3 min. video]

Avoid Plagiarism in Research Papers with Paraphrases & Quotations [3 min. video]

MLA Help!: works cited guide, sample paper, in-text citations, etc.

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 09/12/16