Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects >> Health Sciences

Research Guide: Surgical Technology Resources

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Health Reference Center Academic
Full-text nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources.
Health Source: Nursing & Academic Edition
Scholarly full-text journals. Abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Updated daily.
CINAHL (EBSCO)
Full-text for nursing & allied health journals.
EBSCO Health Databases
Search all 4 of the EBSCO health databases at once! These include Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, CINAHL, MEDLINE, and Health Source: Consumer Edition.
Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module (Gale)
Encyclopedia, dictionary, drug index, magazine articles.
See all Health Science Databases
Gale Power Search
Search 12 different databases at once!
Covers a wide range of subject areas
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results).
The most recent articles are listed first on the results page - check to make sure your article was published in the last five years!
Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File). You will need this for your citation.

Back to Top

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
Essentials of general surgery Stacks RD31 .E737 2006
Instrumentation for the operating room: A photographic manual Reference RD71 .B76 2016
Surgical technology for the surgical technologist: A positive care approach Reference RD32.3 .S866 2014
Pearson's surgical technology exam review Stacks RD32.3 .B64 2014
Surgical tech success handbook Stacks RD32.3 .P75 2006
Dimensional analysis for meds Stacks RS57 .C868 2006
Surgical technology : principles and practice Stacks RD32.3 .F84 2013
Ethics, legal issues, and professionalism in surgical technology Stacks RD32.3 .J33 2007
AST surgical technologist certifying exam study guide Stacks RD32.3 .A755 2004
Operating room skills : fundamentals for the surgical technologist Stacks RD32.3 .D36 2013
Surgical anatomy and physiology for the surgical technologist Stacks QM531 .F77 2006
Surgical technology review : certification and professionalism Stacks RD32.3 .C44 2010
Surgical technologist certifying exam study guide Stacks RD32.3 .A755 2013
Zollinger's atlas of surgical operations Reference RD41 .Z65 2011
Invasion of the body : revolutions in surgery Stacks RD19 .T56 2011
The Cambridge illustrated history of surgery Stacks RD19 .E43 2009
Blood and guts : a history of surgery Stacks RD19 .H65 2008
The illustrated history of surgery Stacks RD19 .H34 2000
Surgery : an illustrated history Reference RD19 .R88 1993
Invasion of the body: Revolutions in surgery eBook View E-Book
Origins of the knife: Early encounters with the history of surgery eBook View E-Book
Thomson Delmar Learning's Surgical technology skills & procedures [DVD Series] AV RD 23.3 T46 2006 6 vols.
Surgery: A history [Video recording] also available streaming AV RD19 .S87 2004

 

Example Subject Headings: surgery, surgical instruments, operations, surgery and history etc.

Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
eBrary (Proquest)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) -- completely electronic
Find More Books...

Back to Top

Find Websites...

Spartanburg Community College's Surgical Technology Web (Library Online Reserves): http://library.sccsc.edu/surgtech/

Association of Surgical Technologists: http://www.ast.org

LUMEN: Structure of the Human Body (Loyola University Medical Center) : Cross sectional analysis of human body, http://www.meddean.luc.edu/lumen/meded/grossanatomy/ga.html

National Board of Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting: http://www.nbstsa.org

YourSurgery.com: Provides a comprehensive library of surgical procedures written by surgeons and presented in an easy to understand format, http://www.yoursurgery.com.au/

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 03/28/17