Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects >> Health Sciences

Research Guide: Nursing Resources

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

EBSCO Health Databases (EBSCO)
Search all 4 of the EBSCO health databases at once! These include:
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition has scholarly full text journals. Abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Updated daily
CINAHL has full text for nursing & allied health journals.
Health Source - Consumer Edition has full text, consumer health magazines.
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine.
Ovid Nursing Journals
This database 5 current, peer-reviewed journals in the field of nursing: American Journal of Nursing, Home Healthcare Nurse, Nursing Critical Care, Nursing Made Incredibly Easy, and Nursing.
Health Reference Center Academic (Gale)
Full-text nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources.
Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module (Gale)
Encyclopedia, dictionary, drug index, magazine articles.
Nursing and Allied Health Collection (GALE)
Nearly 400 titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Nursing Resource Center (GALE)
Disease and drug overviews, care plans, relevant journal results and animated anatomy and physiology diagrams to complement the core encyclopedia texts.
See ALL Health Science Databases

Back to Top

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
Saunders nursing drug handbook 2016 Reference RM125 .H572 2016
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine eBook View 2015 ed. 9 vols.
Magill's medical guide Reference
E-Book
RC41 .M34 2011 6 vols.
View E-Book
Magill's medical guide Downtown
Reference
RC41 .M34 2014 6 vols.
Pearson nursing diagnosis handbook : NANDA-I diagnoses, NIC interventions, NOC outcomes Stacks RT49 .W54 2016
Health & physical assessment in nursing Stacks RT48 .D36 2016
Transcultural nursing: assessment & intervention Stacks RT86.54 .G549 2017
Nursing diagnosis handbook : an evidence-based guide to planning care Stacks RT48.6 .A35 2017
Nursing care plans : diagnoses, interventions, and outcomes Stacks RT49 .N87 2014
Saunders 2016-2017 strategies for test success : passing nursing school and the NCLEX exam Stacks RT55 .S4875 2016
All-in-one nursing care planning resource : medical-surgical, pediatric, maternity, and psychiatric-mental health Stacks RT49 .A45 2016
The nurse, the math, the meds: drug calculations using dimensional analysis Stacks RS57 .J56 2015
Pathophysiology made incredibly visual! Stacks RB113 .P3637 2017
Medical-surgical nursing made incredibly easy! Stacks RT51 .M436 2017

 

Shelf Locations (Library of Congress)

  • RC - Diseases
  • RG - Obstetrics
  • RJ - Pediatrics
  • RT - Nursing (care plans in this area)

Suggested Subject Search Terms:

  • nursing
  • diabetes
  • pediatrics
  • nursing care plans
Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
eBrary (Proquest)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) -- completely electronic
Find More Books...

Back to Top

Find Websites...

General Health Websites: http://library.sccsc.edu/SubjectGuides/health/health_all.asp#websites

MEDLINEplus: Easy-to-understand resource on various diseases and health topics for the public. Includes information from MEDLINE, links to self-help groups, health organizations, medical dictionaries, and clinical trials, http://medlineplus.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/.

American Nurses Association: http://www.nursingworld.org.

Nursing World: Online Journal of Issues in Nursing, http://www.nursingworld.org/ojin/.

Nursing Center.Com: http://www.nursingcenter.com.

National League for Nursing: http://www.nln.org.

South Carolina Board of Nursing: (Part of South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation), http://www.llr.state.sc.us/pol/nursing.

Transcultural Nursing Society: http://www.tcns.org.

Diversity Rx: http://www.diversityrx.org/html/divrx.htm.

EthnoMed: http://ethnomed.org.

American Medical Association: http://www.ama-assn.org/ama

Back to Top

Find Citation Help (APA)...

Back to Top

Find Videos...

Proquest Nursing & Allied Health Source: Videos
Browse the many health-related training videos in this Proquest database.

Back to Top

NCLEX Practice Exams

Practice tests and reviews for the NCLEX-RN exam are available to SCC students through the LearningExpress Library. See below for access directions:

Directions

  1. Open the Learning Express Library logo - click here to access
  2. If you are off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with your Portal username and password
  3. You should then see the LearningExpress Library homepage
    learning express library homepage
  4. If this is your first time, you'll need to register yourself. Click "Register" at the bottom. If not, log in as a returning user.
    learning express log in box
  5. If registering, create a username and password for yourself. You may use the same username and password for the Portal if you want. You'll also need to enter your email address.
  6. Confirm your information to complete your registration. From now on, you'll be able to log in under "returning user" when you come to this site.
  7. Now click on "Jobs and Careers" from the menu on the left.
    learning express library menu
  8. Click "Nursing and Allied Health"
  9. Click "Licensure and Certification Test Preparation"
  10. Scroll down the list until you see the practice tests and reviews for "NCLEX-RN" (WARNING: don't click the NCLEX-PN!!)
    learning express library practice tests
  11. Click "Add to My Center" next to the test you want to take.
  12. Then you can click "Start this test now" in the top-right corner or you can go back and browse for more tests.
    learning express individual test display
  13. At any time, you can click the "My Center" link in the very top-right corner to see which tests you have added and/or take these tests.
    learning express My Center link

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 04/10/17