Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects >> Health Sciences

Research Guide: Massage Therapy Resources

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Health Reference Center Academic (Gale)
Full-text nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources.
Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO)
Provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
EBSCO Health Databases
Search all 4 of the EBSCO health databases at once! These include Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, CINAHL, MEDLINE, and Health Source: Consumer Edition.
Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module (Gale)
Encyclopedia, dictionary, drug index, magazine articles.

See all Health Science Databases
Gale Power Search
Search 12 different databases at once!
Covers a wide range of subject areas
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results).
The most recent articles are listed first on the results page - check to make sure your article was published in the last five years!
Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File). You will need this for your citation.

Back to Top

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
Alternative medicine: The definitive guide Reference R733 .A46 2002
Encyclopedia of complementary and alternative medicine Reference R733 .N38 2004
Pathophysiology for massage therapists : a functional approach Tyger River
Stacks
RM721 .C69 2016
Modalities for massage and bodywork Tyger River
Stacks
RM721 .S755 2016
Massage therapy : principles and practice Tyger River
Stacks
RM721 .S146 2016
Browse Books on 'Massage therapy'    

 

Example Subject Headings: massage, massage therapy, acupressure, aromatherapy, massage for infants, etc.

Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
Ebook Central (Proquest)pascal resource
Search entire books available online.
Find More Books...

Back to Top

Find Websites...

Associations and Societies

American Massage Therapy Association: Association representing massage therapists in 27 countries. Has links to articles from Massage Therapy Journal, http://www.amtamassage.org

Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals (ABMP): Organization serving the massage, bodywork, somatic and esthetic professions. Includes links to articles from Massage and Bodywork Magazine, http://www.abmp.com

Massage Therapy Foundation:  Organization founded by the AMTA whose mission is to advance "the knowledge and practice of massage therapy by supporting scientific research, education and community service." http://www.massagetherapyfoundation.org/

National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH): One of 27 institutes and centers that make up the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Its mission is to give the American public reliable information about the safety and effectiveness of complementary and alternative medicine practices, http://nccam.nih.gov

The National Certification Board of Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork: Nationally recognized certification program. Includes links to the Candidate Handbook and Portfolio Review Handbook, http://www.ncbtmb.com/

Touch Research Institutes: Located at the University of Miami School of Medicine, the Philippines, and the University of Paris, the Institutes study effects of massage therapy, http://www.miami.edu/touch-research

Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards: Creator of the MBLEx licensing exam, https://fsmtb.org/

Publications

Massage Magazine: Links to massage schools, seminars, and training opportunities. Some full text articles, www.massagemag.com

Massage Today: Links to current and previous issues. Also has links to discussion forums, "Ask a Massage Therapist," and a massage therapist locater, www.massagetoday.com

Massage Therapy Journal: Includes links to archived articles,http://www.amtamassage.org/journal/home.html

Massage and Bodywork: Magazine put out by the Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals. Includes link to a selection of archived articles, www.massageandbodywork.com

Massage Related Websites

Massage Network: List your business, find a therapist, and order products. Features the latest news from the field, www.massagenetwork.com

Massagetherapy.com: Website put together by the Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals (ABMP). Includes searchable archives of articles, www.massagetherapy.com

Massage Therapy 101: Offers information on massage techniques as well as massage schools and training, http://www.massagetherapy101.com

Touchpoint Reflexology Website: Website put together by the Touchpoint Institute of Reflexology and Kinesthetics, http://www6.miami.edu/touch-research/

WholeHealth MD.com: Alternative medicine website. Includes information on nutritional supplements, multivitamins, treatments and recipes, www.wholehealthmd.com

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 10/16/17