Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects >> Health Sciences

Research Guide: AHS 101 - Health Career Research

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center
Search for a career/job in the search box next to "Search Job Profiles"
Be sure to search by the occupation's title rather than what you would be doing -- example, search 'welder' not 'welding'.
EBSCO General Databases
Search 10 databases at once: Academic Search Premier, TOPICsearch, MasterFILE Premier, Military & Government Collection, MAS Ultra - School Edition, Vocational and Career Collection, Associates Programs Source, Newspaper Source Plus, GreenFILE, and News (AP, UPI, etc.) Collection. Find journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
Vocational and Career Collection
Designed to meet a wide variety of vocational and technical research needs, this collection provides full-text coverage for trade and industry-related periodicals including Modern Machine Shop, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Reeves Journal, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age and many more.

Back to Top

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
Career Opportunities in Health Care Reference R690 .F54 2007
101 Careers in Nursing Stacks RT82 .A15 2006
Careers in Healthcare Reference R690 .C376 2014
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance Reference
(Tyger River)
HF 5381 .E52 2008 5 vols.
Exploring Tech Careers Reference HF 5382 .E97 2006 2 vols.
Introduction to the Health Professions Central-Stacks
Downtown-Reference
R690 .S727 2012
Careers in Health Information Technology Stacks R858 .M34 2015
The Top 100: The Fastest Growing Careers for the 21st Century Reference HF 5382 .T59 2011

 

Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
eBrary (Proquest)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) -- completely electronic
Find More Books...

Back to Top

Find Websites...

Look up information on specific occupations:

Occupational Outlook Handbook: all types of careers; updated every year http://www.bls.gov/ooh/

MLA Citation - Occupational Outlook Handbook (Example)

"Librarians." Occupational Outlook Handbook, U.S. Dept. of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics, 17 Dec. 2015, www.bls.gov/oco/ocos068.htm.

Career InfoNet: Occupation, Industry and State Information. Includes current labor market information, including current wages and trends by occupation in a particular state http://www.careerinfonet.org/

O*NET OnLine: Occupational Information Network: http://online.onetcenter.org/

South Carolina Employment Security Commission: http://www.sces.org/

South Carolina Employment Securities Exchange: Employment and Wage Estimates (State and Metropolitan), Wage Publications (by area) http://www.sces.org/lmi/data/wages/oews.asp

US Bureau of Labor Statistics: Metropolitan Area Occupational Employment & Wage Estimates: http://www.bls.gov/oes/current/oessrcma.htm

State Occupational Projections: http://www.projectionscentral.com

Jobstar.org: Links to Online Salary Surveys, http://jobstar.org/tools/salary/sal-prof.php

What if I don't know which occupation is right for me?

CareerOneStop: Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor, CareerOneStop assists in exploring careers, writing resumes, interviewing, and locating jobs. Though brought to the web by the State of Minnesota, the site provides links to other states and to nearly 2000 OneStopCareer Centers nationwide: http://www.careeronestop.org/

KUDER Career Planning System: Ask a library staff member for a copy of the Quick Start Guide if you wish to take the assessment tests on this site. http://sc.kuder.com/

South Carolina Occupational Information System: Ask a library staff member for the login information if you wish to take the assessment tests on this site. http://www.scois.net/

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 07/29/16