Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects

Research Guide: General Film Resources

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Gale Power Search
Search 12 different databases at once!
A good place to search for almost any topic - covers a wide range of subject areas.
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results)
Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File).
Academic Search Premier
Search many different topics - covers a wide range of subject areas.
Be sure to check the "Full-Text" box before you search.

Back to Top

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
The Film Handbook Reference PN1998.2 .A64 1990
Complete A-Z Media & Film Students Handbook Reference PN 1993.45 .C53 2007
Dictionary of Film Terms Reference PN1993.45 .B33 2007
The Film Encyclopedia Reference PN1993.45 .K34 2005
Film: An International History of the Medium Reference PN1993.5 .A1.S55 2002
Film Histories: An Introduction and Reader Reference PN1993.5 .A1 G68 2007
History of the American Cinema (from 1895-1949) Reference PN 1993.5 .U6 H55 1990
Film art : an introduction Stacks PN1995 .B617 2008

 

Example Subject Terms: Tarantino, motion pictures

Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
eBrary (Proquest)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) -- completely electronic
Find More Books...

Back to Top

Find Websites...

The Internet Movie Database: Over 2 million filmographies covering 180,000 movies and over 500,000 people, http://www.imdb.com.

The New York Times: New York Times website. Includes movie reviews. You must register and create a free account to access reviews. Please see library's tutorial above on how to do this, http://www.nytimes.com.

Bedford St. Martin's "Film: an Introduction": Accompanying web site to film class textbook, http://www.bedfordstmartins.com/phillips-film/con_index.htm?99xfx.

Roger Ebert's Movie Reviews: Movie reviews from Roger Ebert of the Chicago Sun-Times, http://rogerebert.suntimes.com.

Rotten Tomatoes: Links to thousands of movie reviews from the nation's top print and online film critics, http://www.rottentomatoes.com.

Indie Wire.com: An online community for independent films and film-makers. Chat with film aficionados and read the latest articles on the independent film scene, http://www.indiewire.com.

Motion Picture Association of America: History of movie rating system, http://www.mpaa.org.

Academic Info: Film Studies Gateway : A good collection of links to evaluated film websites, http://www.academicinfo.net/film.html.

Learner.org Cinema Resources on the Web: A good collection of links...film organizations, OSCAR.COM: The Official Academy Awards Site and more, http://www.learner.org/exhibits/cinema/resources.html.

American Society of Cinematographers: Includes discussion forum, production news and more..., http://www.theasc.com/.

MRQE: Movie Review Query Engine: MRQE is the ultimate place "where people people talk about movies." MRQE is the largest online database of movie reviews, partnering with leading movie blogs to collect and make searchable their content, http://www.mrqe.com.

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 07/20/16