Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects

Faculty & Staff Services

Faculty Support

Instruction: Schedule a time for you and your students to work with a librarian. We offer customized classes focused on specific research assignments, as well as information literacy skills (i.e. website evaluation, plagiarism, MLA/APA citations, research skills). Our calendar fills up, so schedule early! Contact the Public Services Librarian for more details.

Assignment Consultation: Our librarians can work with you to develop research assignments. Whether it's brainstorming, giving feedback, or developing help tools or guides, we are always happy to help.

Research Guides: Direct your students to our customized webpages designed for specific research assignments and general subject areas. We are happy to create new guides for your assignments.

PASCAL and ILL: Request books from any college or university in South Carolina through Pascal Delivers. The library can also request materials through Interlibrary Loan (subject to availability). All requested materials will be delivered to the SCC campus of your choice.

MLA / APA Online Citation Guides: Direct your students toward our website for online citation help in MLA and APA. Citation is the number one question asked in the library!

Tutorials: The library offers online tutorials. Contact us to have your class added to the library's tutorials in D2L.

Plagiarism Tutorial: Ensure your students know how to avoid plagiarism. Contact us to have your class added to the library's Plagiarism Tutorial in D2L, or just add students who need guidance.

Workshops: The library occasionally offers one-hour workshops on various topics, such as Basic MLA Format. Watch your emails for announcements.

Ask-A-Librarian: Send us questions any time through our Ask-A-Librarian email service.

Reserves: Place materials on reserve for your classes in the library. You decide whether they are in-library-use only or 3-day-checkout. We'll keep them in the reserve collection so your students can access them any time we're open. We can also help you create permanent links to any material in our online databases so your students can access it anytime.

Library Instruction

The SCC library supports the College's information literacy goals by offering in-class library instruction that teaches students how to find, evaluate and use information to support their school, professional and personal needs. Librarians at the SCC library are available (day or evening) to provide library instruction at all SCC campus locations and online.

  • Library instruction requests should be received at least 1 week in advance. Faculty are encouraged to send requests early in the semester so the library can accommodate your preferred date.
  • Instructors should send the assignment to the librarian instructor at least 1 week prior to the library instruction date.
  • Instructors must attend the library instruction session with their class; students are more engaged when the instructor participates in the session.
  • For online library instruction, contact us and we'll work with you.

To book a library instruction session for your class, contact the Public Services Librarian.

Library Instruction Room

The library instruction room (LIB 127) is reserved for librarian-led instruction. If the room is available, faculty may request to use the library instruction room during library hours. To request the library instruction room, contact the Public Services Librarian. Please note, this does not confirm your request. First priority will be given to librarian-led instruction classes. A librarian will review the calendar, and if the date requested is available, your request will be tentatively added to the calendar.  A librarian will confirm your request 1 week prior to the requested date.

Back to Top

Professional Periodicals

Change: the Magazine of Higher Learning
Contemporary issues in higher education, contains peer-reviewed articles.
Chronicle of Higher Education
Source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty and administrators.
Community College Daily
Online newspaper of the American Association of Community Colleges, covers news & issues.
Community College Review
This journal contains community college peer-reviewed research and commentary.
College Teaching
Articles on how instructors across all academic disciplines can improve student learning.

Circulation Policy

How long can I borrow library materials?

Purchase Requests

We rely on your expertise to select library materials for your subject area. If you have a purchase request, let us know by contacting the Technical Services Librarian.

Back to Top

Education Databases

Off Campus Access: username is your Web ID (ex: absmith), and the password is your portal password.

ERIC
This education database contains links to thousands of full-text education articles.
Educators Reference Complete
Full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources.
Teacher Reference Center
Full text articles from more than 300 teacher and administrator journals and magazines.

Find More Databases...

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 07/28/17