Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects >> English >> English 101

Research Guide: English 101/102 - Southern Culture

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
Dreaming of Dixie : How the South was Created in American Popular Culture Reserve F209 .C68 2011
The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture (each volume on different subject)

Volumes on Reserve (for Eng 102): Gender; Folklife; Violence; Myth, Manners, and Memory; Ethnicity; Language; History; Religion.
Volumes in Stacks include: Foodways; Geography; Environment; Law & Politics; Agriculture & Industry; Urbanization; Sports & Recreation; Education; Media.
Reserve/Stacks,
eBook Collection
F209 .N47 2006

View Volumes as E-Books
Southern Culture : An Introduction Reference F209 .B38 2009
The South Reference F209 .S68 2004
Southern Cultures : The Fifteenth Anniversary Reader
**see table of contents - the first couple of chapters talk about what the south is/isn't, and the identity of southern people; then there is a chapter on regional stereotypes
eBook Collection View E-Book
Bridging Southern Cultures : An Interdisciplinary Approach
**in Part III, there is a chapter called "The Burden of Southern Culture" that appears to talk about the influence of the Civil War and the Confederacy
eBook Collection View E-Book
The Literature and Culture of the American South Reference PS 261. C555 2004
The South Reserve F209. H15 1995
Away Down South: A History of Southern Identity Reserve F209. C597 2007
Manners and Southern History Reserve BJ1853. M22 2007
The Old South Reserve F212. W5
Sue Ellen's Girl Ain't Fat, She Just Weighs Heavy : The Belle of All Things Southern Dishes on Men, Money, and Not Losing Your Midlife Mind Stacks F209.6 .T665 2011
Suck Your Stomach In & Put Some Color On : What Southern Mamas Tell Their Daughters That the Rest of Y'all Should Know Too Stacks F209.6 .T66 2007
Some Day You'll Thank Me for This : The Official Southern Ladies' Guide to Being the "Perfect" Mother Stacks HQ759 .M48 2009
Somebody is Going to Die if Lilly Beth Doesn't Catch that Bouquet : The Official Southern Ladies Guide to Hosting the Perfect Wedding Stacks HQ745 .M635 2007
Religion in the Contemporary South : Changes, Continuities, and Contexts Reserve BL2525 .R46877 2005
Click Here for More Books for "Southern and Culture"

 

Search Hints:

The subject term for books about the south is "southern states." This subject terms works in both eBook Collection and in the library's catalog.

To narrow this topic, do a key word search and add terms. For example, "southern states and culture" or "southern states" and language" there are some good books---- for example "Whistlin' Dixie: A Dictionary of Southern Expressions

Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
Ebook Central (Proquest)
Search entire books available online.
Find More Books...

Back to Top

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Off Campus Access: username is your Web ID (ex: absmith), and the password is your portal password.

Gale Virtual Reference Library [Online Books]
Try searching 'southern united states' to get started.
Gale U.S. History in Context
Use this more for Southern history - rather than culture. Articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journal.
See All Databases

Back to Top

Find Websites...

http://www.docsouth.unc.edu: collection of primary resources about the culture, literature, and history of the American South. To access various topics, click on "Subjects." Uses the same subject terms as are in the library catalog for example: "Southern States--Social Life and Customs.", http://www.docsouth.unc.edu

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 03/05/19