Ask-A-Librarian Logo

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects >> English >> English 101

Research Guide: English 101 - Great American Trials

Find Books...

For this assignment, reference books are a fantastic place to start!

Recommended Reference Books

Title Location Call Number
Great American Trials Reference KF220 .G74 2002 2 vols.
Crimes & Trials of the Century Reference
E-Book
KF 221 .P6 C75 2007 2 vols.
Click here to view E-Book
Famous Trials in History Reference K540 C39 2012
Courts and Trials: A Reference Handbook Reference KF 8719 .S552 2003
Gale Encyclopedia of Everyday Law Reference KF 387 .G27 2003 2 vols.
Encyclopedia of Serial Killers Reference HV6245 .N49 2006
Encyclopedia of American Crime Reference HV6789 .S54 2001 2 vols.
Introduction to the Law and Legal System of the United States Reference KF 386 .B88 2006
Law Makers, Law Breakers and Uncommon Trials Reference K 540 .A38 2007
Mammoth Book of Famous Trials: The 30 Greatest Trials of All Time Reference K 540 .M36 2006

 

Search the Catalog:

Library Catalog

  • Find materials that are in the physical library.
  • Primarily good for finding books.
  • Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
  • Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
  • See which library the book is located in, and what section.
  • Be sure to write down the book's call number!

eBook Collection

  • Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
  • E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
  • Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
  • For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!

Find More Books...

Back to Top


Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

OFF CAMPUS ACCESS: username is your Web ID (ex: absmith), and the password is your portal password.

Gale Power Search
Search 12 different databases at once!
A good place to search for almost any topic - covers a wide range of subject areas
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results)
Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File)
Academic Search Premier
Search many different topics - covers a wide range of subject areas
Be sure to check the "Full-Text" box before you search
Gale U.S. History in Context
Find articles and essays on famous historical events/people
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results)
Credo Reference (NO OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS)
Articles from almost 600 reference books
Law books can be found by clicking on "Find a Book," then clicking on "Law" on the left hand side of the page
See All Databases

Back to Top


Find Websites...

Famous Trials: Site put together by professor at University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law, http://www.law.umkc.edu/faculty/projects/FTrials/ftrial

MLA Citation - Famous Trials Website (Example)

Linder, Douglas O. "The Leo Frank Trial." Famous Trials. University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Law, 2008. Web. 5 Oct. 2011. <http://law2.umkc.edu/faculty/projects/FTrials/frank/frankmain.html>.

**Only include URL at the end of the citation if you're instructor requires it!

CNN Justice: http://www.cnn.com/JUSTICE

For the Nuremberg Trials

Nuremberg Trials Project, Harvard University: This resource has prosecution and defense documents, photographs and descriptions. Among the many search options are keyword, defendant, trial issues, http://nuremberg.law.harvard.edu

Avalon Project, Yale University: The international military tribunal for Germany-part of the Avalon Project at Yae Law School, http://avalon.law.yale.edu/subject_menus/imt.asp

The Library of Congress's Military Legal Resources: http://www.loc.gov/rr/frd/Military_Law/Nuremberg_trials.html

Back to Top


Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us using the form on our homepage (http://library.sccsc.edu) and we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Normal Reference Desk Hours: Mon-Thurs 7:30am - 9pm, Fri 7:30am - 1:30pm, Sat 9am - 1pm

Reference Desk Phone Number: Main-Spartanburg Campus (864) 592-4654, Cherokee Campus (864) 206-2656, Tyger River Campus (864) 592-6220

Back to Top