Ask-A-Librarian Logo

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects >> English >> English 101

Research Guide: English 101 - Gender Differences

Find Books...

Recommended Reference Books

Title Location Call Number
Encyclopedia of American Social History Reference HN57 .E58 1992 Vol. 1
The Encyclopedia of the Brain and Brain Disorders
 *See entry on "gender differences"
Reference QP 376 .T87 2002
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family Reference HQ 9 .E52 2003 Vol. 2
Marshall Cavendish Encyclopedia of Personal Relationships
 *Vol. 3 Childhood: Girls & Boys
 *Vol. 4 Adulthood: Men & Women
Reference BF 121 .M37 1990
Oxford Companion to the Mind Reference BF 31 .094 2004
Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Human Sexuality Reference HN5 .t35 h86 2008
Taking Sides: Clashing Views in Gender Reference HN 5 .T35 G46 2007
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender E-Book Click here
The Myth of Mars and Venus STACKS P120 .S48 C3525 2007
Gender Born, Gender Made: Raising Healthy Gender-Nonconforming Children STACKS HQ1075 .E47 2011
Performing American Masculinities : The 21st-century Man in Popular Culture STACKS HQ503 .C425 2012
The Meaning of Wife STACKS HQ759 .K548 2006
Transgender 101: A Simple Guide to a Complex Issue STACKS HQ77.9 .T45 2012
Just Add Hormones: An Insider's Guide to the Transsexual Experience STACKS HQ77.8 .K34 A3 2005
Everywhere and Nowhere: Contemporary Feminism in the United States On-Order (as of 2/14/13) HQ1421 .R44 2012
Masculinities STACKS HQ1088 .C66 2005
Feminism STACKS (Central & Cherokee) HQ1155 .F442 2012
Girls On the Edge STACKS HQ777 .S29 2011
Sexing the Brain STACKS QP360 .R628 2001

 

Search the Catalog:

Library Catalog

  • Find materials that are in the physical library.
  • Primarily good for finding books.
  • Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
  • Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
  • See which library the book is located in, and what section.
  • Be sure to write down the book's call number!

eBook Collection

  • Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
  • E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
  • Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
  • For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!

Find More Books...

Back to Top


Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

OFF CAMPUS ACCESS: username is your Web ID (ex: absmith), and the password is your portal password.

Gale Power Search (previously Gale Database Articles or Gale Full Database List)
Search 12 different databases at once!
A good place to search for almost any topic - covers a wide range of subject areas
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results)
Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File)
NOTE: Psychology Today (journal) has a good cluster of articles on gender, grouped under the title "The Opposite Sex." To find, go to the Advanced Search and type "opposite sex" in the key word field, check the box to limit to full text and enter "Psychology Today" in the publication title field (toward the bottom). Additional articles can be found in Gale Databases by using the keyword search term "sex differences."
Academic Search Premier
Search many different topics - covers a wide range of subject areas
Be sure to check the "Full-Text" box before you search
Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Find articles on many of today's hottest topics.
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results)
Remember "Viewpoints" means the essay is biased towards the author's opinion.
Points of View
Contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints, including more than 1,300 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
Issues & Controversies
Find reports on many controversial issues.
Good source of background information on various issues.
Notice the links in the sidebar on the left side of the page of every report: viewpoints, related articles, key news events, overviews, etc.
Gale Global Issues in Context
Articles from reference books, academic journals, magazines, newspapers on international issues, perspectives from different countries, and current events.
See All Databases

Back to Top


Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us using the form on our homepage (http://library.sccsc.edu) and we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Normal Reference Desk Hours: Mon-Thurs 7:30am - 9pm, Fri 7:30am - 1:30pm, Sat 9am - 1pm

Reference Desk Phone Number: Main-Spartanburg Campus (864) 592-4654, Cherokee Campus (864) 206-2656, Tyger River Campus (864) 592-6220

Back to Top