Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects >> English

Research Guide: General English Resources

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Off Campus Access: username is your Web ID (ex: absmith), and the password is your portal password.

Literature Resource Center
Find Literary Criticism articles, as well author bios, and work overviews
Notice the different tabs on the search result page: Literary Criticism, Topic & Work Overviews, etc.
Bloom's Literature
Find Literary Criticism articles, as well author bios, and work overviews
Notice the different tabs on the search result page: Literary Criticism, Overviews & Synopses, etc.
EBSCO Literature Databases
Search 2 EBSCO literary databases at once: Literary Reference Center and Academic Search Premier.
Click on "PDF Full Text" or "HTML Full Text" on the search results page to view the entire article
Gale Virtual Reference Library [Online Books]
Contains the Gale For Students Series Online, including Short Stories for Students, Drama For Students, Poetry For Students, Novels for Students, Epics for Students and Shakespeare for Students.
Literature Criticism Online [Online Books]
Contains the books Drama Criticism and Short Story Criticism Online.
eBook Collection [Online Books]
Collection of over 120,000 full-text books online.
Salem Press Literature
--Includes reference sets Critical Insights Authors: Gwendolyn Brooks, Emily Dickinson, T.S. Eliot, Robert Frost, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Ernest Hemingway, Arthur Miller, Tennessee Williams Critical Insights Works: Canterbury Tales, Death of a Salesman, One Hundred Years of Solitude, Poetry of Poe, Streetcar Named Desire, Tales of Poe, Things Fall Apart Critical Surveys: Long Fiction, American Poets, British, Irish & Commonwealth Poets, European Poets, World Poets, Poetry Cumulative Indexes, Poetry Topical Essays Masterplots.
Scribner Writer's Series
Essays on lives and works of 1600+ important authors from around the world
Essays on special topics in literature--gothic novels, nature poetry, etc.

[Back to Top]

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
The Oxford English Dictionary Reference PE 1625. O87 1989 (20 vols)
Cyclopedia of Literary Characters Reference PN 44 M28 1990 (4 vols)
Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Allusions Reference PN 43. W384 1999
Dictionary of World Literary Terms Reference PN 41. S5
Shakespearean Criticism Reference PR 2965 .S43 Multivolume set
Short Story Criticism Reference PN 3373 .S384 Multi-Volume Set
Short Stories for Students Reference PN 3326 .S56 Multi-Volume Set

 

Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
Ebook Central (Proquest)pascal resource
Search entire books available online.
Find More Books...

[Back to Top]

Find Websites...

Perdue Online Writing Lab (OWL): resources for writing and teaching writing, research, grammar and mechanics, style guides (MLA & APA), ESL (English as a Second Language), job search and professional writing, http://owl.english.purdue.edu/.

[Back to Top]

Find Citation Help...

Our MLA Guide has more help on creating Works Cited entries, In-text citations, and formatting your paper.

[Back to Top]

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 07/06/17