Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects >> English

Research Guide: English 205 - Early British Literature

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Off Campus Access: username is your Web ID (ex: absmith), and the password is your portal password.

Literature Resource Center
Find Literary Criticism articles, as well author bios, and work overviews
Search by entering the name of the work, followed by the word "and," and then the author's last name (if applicable). Ex. - Dr. Faustus and Marlowe
If there is enough material, add keywords for your topic. Ex. - Beowulf and Christianity
Notice the different tabs on the search result page: Literary Criticism, Topic & Work Overviews, etc.
Bloom's Literature
Find Literary Criticism articles, as well author bios, and work overviews
Search by entering the name of the work, followed by the word "and," and then the author's last name (if applicable). Ex. - Dr. Faustus and Marlowe
If there is enough material, add keywords for your topic. Ex. - Beowulf and treasure
Notice the different tabs on the search result page: Literary Criticism, Overviews & Synopses, etc.
EBSCO Literature Databases
Search 2 EBSCO literary databases at once: Literary Reference Center and Academic Search Premier.
Search by entering the name of the work, followed by the word "and," and then the author's last name (if applicable). Ex. - Dr. Faustus and Marlowe
If there is enough material, add keywords for your topic. Ex. - Beowulf and hero
Click on "PDF Full Text" or "HTML Full Text" on the search results page to view the entire article
Other General English Resources

Back to Top

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
Epics for Students Vol. 1 Reference PN56 .E65 E67 2011
Encyclopedia of Traditional Epics Reference PN56 .E65 E64 1994
Beowulf [criticism] by George Clark Stacks PR1585 .C55 1990
Beowulf [criticism] by Harold Bloom Stacks PR1585 .B38 1987
Hero's journey by Harold Bloom Stacks
Ebook
PN56.5 .H45 H47 2009
View Ebook
Rogues and Early Modern English Culture Ebook View Ebook

 

Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
Ebook Central (Proquest)pascal resource
Search entire books available online.
Find More Books...

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 10/05/17