Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects >> Early Care Education (ECD)

Research Guide: General Early Childhood Development  Resources

On This Page:

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

EBSCO Education Databases
Search 4 databases at once! ERIC, Teacher Reference Center, Professional Development, and Education Full Text. Academic journals, news, reports, etc. in teaching and education.
Educators Reference Complete
Full-text academic journals, hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference sources.
Academic Search Premier
Search many different topics - covers a wide range of subject areas.
Be sure to check the "Full-Text" box before you search.
Gale Power Search
Search 12 different databases at once!
Covers a wide range of subject areas
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results).
The most recent articles are listed first on the results page - check to make sure your article was published in the last five years!
Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File). You will need this for your citation.

Back to Top

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
Encyclopedia of Infant & Toddler Activities Central Stacks
Downtown Stacks
LB1139.35 A37 E53 2006
The Child : An Encyclopedic Companion Downtown Reference HQ767.84 .C55 2009
Wired to move : facts and strategies for nurturing boys in an early childhood setting Downtown Stacks LC1390 .M67 2013
Up, down, move around : nutrition and motor skills : active learning for preschoolers Downtown Stacks LB1140.5 .H4 M53 2013
Creative resources for the early childhood classroom Downtown Stacks LB1140.4 .H47 2013
Activities for responsive caregiving : infants, toddlers, and twos Downtown Stacks HQ778.5 .B36 2013

Children's Books for ECD 131

 

Example Subject Headings: children, child development, early childhood education, social interaction in children

Call Number Range:

  • BF 712-724.85 (Development Psychology)
  • HQ 767.8-792.2 (Children/Child Development)
  • LB 1139 (Early Children Education)
  • LC 189-214.53 (Educational Sociology/Social Interaction)
Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
Ebook Central (Proquest)pascal resource
Search entire books available online.
Find More Books...

Back to Top

Find Websites...

Child Development Resources

Building Inner Controls, pt. 9 of The Whole Child: ECD 105 students can access the video, Building Inner Controls, which is part 9 of the Whole Child series from this link to the Annenberg Learner website.

I Am Your Child: I Am Your Child is a national public awareness campaign to make Early Care Education a top priority in our nation. Site offers info on stages of childhood development, brain development, parenting tips and link to other resources and expert advice, http://www.iamyourchild.org.

National Association for the Education of Young Children: National Association for the Education of Young Children provides tools and information about Early Care Education that can be used in classrooms and programs, http://www.naeyc.org.

Website of the Council for Exceptional Children: http://www.cec.sped.org

South Carolina Department of Education: Includes a link to the Office of Early Childhood Education, employment and job opportunities and information on DSS training, http://ed.sc.gov/index.html.

Health and Safety

Kids Count South Carolina: http://scchildren.org/advocacy_and_media/kids_count_south_carolina/

National Network for Child Care: Contains information on a wide range of topics including quality child care, children's books, health and safety, etc. Includes links to children's web sites, http://www.nncc.org/.

National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care: Excellent Site--good for locating state day care regulations, health and safety tips, and other child care information resources, http://nrckids.org/.

Teaching and Curriculum Development

Early Childhood: News articles, activities and curriculum, links and more..., http://www.earlychildhood.com.

ERIC online: http://www.eric.ed.gov/

ERIC Early Childhood Research and Practice: Internet journal on the development, care, and education of young children--good for finding info on different learning styles and teaching methods, http://ecrp.uiuc.edu/.

Online Puzzle-Making Software

Educational Press: Create free educational worksheets such as flashcards, game boards, and quizzes to print directly from your browser. Choose from pre-made lists, http://www.educationalpress.org.

Ed Helper: Has some free puzzle creating tools and some that you have to sign up to use (at a cost). Click on "make puzzles" to access these, http://www.edhelper.com.

Crossword Puzzle Games: Create crossword puzzles, http://www.crosswordpuzzlegames.com/.

Cryptograms: Create cryptograms, http://www.crosswordpuzzlegames.com/cryptomaker.html.

Award Winning Children's Books

John Newbery Medal: Presented annually to author of most distinguished American children's book. Description of criteria and link to list of award winning titles, http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/alsc/awardsgrants/bookmedia/newberymedal/newberymedal.cfm.
List of Newbery Medal winners in the SCC Library

Randolph Caldecott Medal: Presented annually to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. Description of criteria and link to list of award winning titles, http://www.ala.org/ala/mgrps/divs/alsc/awardsgrants/bookmedia/caldecottmedal/caldecottmedal.cfm.
List of Caldecott Medal winners in the SCC Library.

Coretta Scott King Award: Honors African American authors and illustrators of children's literature. Description of criteria and link to list of award winning titles.
List of Coretta Scott King Award winners in the SCC Library.

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 08/30/17