Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects

Research Guide: General Digital Design Resources

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Gale Power Search (previously Gale Database Articles or Gale Full Database List)
Search 12 different databases at once!
A good place to search for almost any topic - covers a wide range of subject areas.
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results)
Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File).
Ebsco General Databases
Search 10 databases at once: Academic Search Premier, TOPICsearch, MasterFILE Premier, Military & Government Collection, MAS Ultra - School Edition, Vocational and Career Collection, Associates Programs Source, Newspaper Source Plus, GreenFILE, and News (AP, UPI, etc.) Collection. Find journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
Computer Source
Be sure to check the "Full-Text" box before you search.
Provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology.
Offers full text for nearly 300 publications and indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.

Back to Top

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
AIGA Professional Practices in Graphic DesignStacksNC 1001.6 .A44 2008
Graphic design school : the principles and practice of graphic design StacksNC845 .D33 2014
Complete Digital Photography 6th ed.StacksTR 267 .L66 2012
The Adobe Photoshop CS5 Book for Digital Photographers StacksTR 267.5 .A33 K45 2011
Creative anarchy : how to break the rules of graphic design for creative success StacksNC998 .B67 2014
Stop stealing sheep & find out how type works StacksZ250 .S738 2014
Copyright for the Rest of Us: A Guide for People Who are Not LawyersE-BookClick here to view E-Book

Suggested Subject Terms:

  • computer graphics, graphic arts, image processing, or digital design

Call Number Range

  • NC 997-1003 (Commercial Art)
  • TR 1-1050 (Photography)
  • Z242.9-264.5 (Practical Printing)
Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
eBrary (Proquest)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) -- completely electronic
Find More Books...

Back to Top

Find Websites...

Layers Magazine (Adobe): The How-to Magazine for Everything Adobe, http://www.layersmagazine.com

Printing Industries of America: Printing Industries of America, http://www.printing.org

Pantone: Pantone Color, products, and guides for accurate color communication, http://www.pantone.com

Communication Arts: Beautiful graphics and animation, http://www.commarts.com/gallery

Webplaces.com: Clip art searcher, http://webplaces.com/search

Top 20 Free: links to free graphic art, http://www.top20free.com

Ender-Design: Computer graphics sites. Images in the archive are available to the public. Click on "Realm Graphics Archive.", http://www.ender-design.com/

Copyright Sites

Copyright for the Rest of Us: A guide for people who are not lawyers: A short, easy to understand e-book on copyright, http://escholarshare.drake.edu/handle/2092/1591

The United States Copyright Office: Good basic copyright information, http://www.loc.gov/copyright/

U.S. Trademark and Patent Office: Trademark and patent information, http://www.uspto.gov

Cyberbee on Copyright: Basic copyright information geared towards children, http://www.cyberbee.com/cb_copyright.htm

Kuester Law: Patent, copyright law; award winning site, http://www.kuesterlaw.com

Music Copyright Infringement Resource: http://www.ccnmtl.columbia.edu/projects/law/library

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 01/18/17