Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects

Research Guide: General Culinary Resources

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Gale Power Search
Search 12 different databases at once!
A good place to search for almost any topic - covers a wide range of subject areas.
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results)
Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File).
EBSCO General Databases
Search 10 databases at once: Academic Search Premier, TOPICsearch, MasterFILE Premier, Military & Government Collection, MAS Ultra - School Edition, Vocational and Career Collection, Associates Programs Source, Newspaper Source Plus, GreenFILE, and News (AP, UPI, etc.) Collection. Find journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
Business Source Premier
Scholarly business journals and other sources, including 1,125 peer-reviewed business publications, including resources on the food-service and hospitality industry.
Be sure to check the "Full-Text" box before you search.

Back to Top

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
Food Safety Handbook Stacks  TP373.5 .F67 2003
Food Alert: The Ultimate Sourcebook for Food Safety Stacks RA601.5 .S28 2008
Cambridge World History of Food Reference TX 353 .C255 2000 2 vols.
Cook's Dictionary: International Food and Cooking Terms From A to Z Reference TX 349 .S56 2004
The Cook's Essentials Kitchen Dictionary Reference TX 349 .R56 2004
Food Encyclopedia Reference TX 349 .R644 2006
 Food Safety Reference TX 531 .R44 2007
Oxford Companion to Wine Reference TP 548 .076 2006
Kitchen knife skills : techniques for carving, boning, slicing, chopping, dicing, mincing, filleting Stacks TX656 .L86 2009
Baking boot camp : five days of basic training at the Culinary Institute of America Stacks TX763 .G568 2007
The flavor bible : the essential guide to culinary creativity, based on the wisdom of America's most imaginative chefs Stacks TX651 .P34 2008
World Cookbook for Students Stacks
eBook Collection
TX 725 .A1 J23 2007 5 vols.
View E-Book
World Religions Cookbook eBook Collection View E-Book

 

Suggested Subject Terms:

  • cookery
  • restaurant management
  • food industry and trade
  • nutrition
  • food habits
  • Food Contamination

Call Number Range

  • TX 642-840 (Cooking/Cookery)
  • TX 901-946.5 (Hospitality Industry)
Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
eBrary (Proquest)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) -- completely electronic
Find More Books...

Back to Top

Find Websites...

American Culinary Federation: A professional, not-for-profit organization for chefs, http://www.acfchefs.org.

Sizzle: American Culinary Federation Quarterly for Students of Cooking: Free online publication from the American Culinary Federation, http://www.sizzle-digital.com/sizzle.

American Hotel & Lodging Association: http://www.ahla.com.

School Nutrition Association: https://schoolnutrition.org

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Health Topic: Foodborne Illnesses; Contains links to information on food-borne illnesses and food safety, http://www.cdc.gov/foodsafety/.

Council on Hotel, Restaurant, and Institutional Education: http://www.chrie.org.

Food and Nutrition Information Center (USDA): Part of the National Agricultural Library, FNIC's web site provides a directory to credible, accurate, and practical resources for consumers, nutrition and health professionals, educators and government personnel. Visitors can find printable format educational materials, government reports, research papers and more, including a nutrient database, http://www.nal.usda.gov.

Food Resource: An annotated directory of food-related sites. Put together by Oregon State University, http://food.oregonstate.edu.

Hospitality Association of South Carolina: Webpage of South Carolina's trade association for the lodging and foodservice industry, http://www.schospitality.org.

International Food Information Council Foundation (IFIC): Good industry source on food-related issues: nutrition, food additives, etc. Also includes a glossary of food related terms, http://www.ific.org.

National Restaurant Association: Good source of information about the association and its services, as well as research and trends affecting the restaurant industry. Includes archived articles from Restaurant USA, http://www.restaurant.org.

Nutrition.gov: This federal resource provides access to all online federal government information on nutrition, http://www.nutrition.gov.

Professional Chefs Association: Chefs online, recipes, jobs, http://www.professionalchef.com.

Southeast Food Service News: Regional publication of food service industry in the Southeastern United States, including Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia. Each issue features news and information about food service people, companies, events, products, and services, http://www.sfsn.com/.

USDA Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion: Has the latest nutritional and dietary guidelines and news releases, http://www.usda.gov/cnpp.

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 09/29/16