Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects

Research Guide: Criminal Justice Research

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Off Campus Access: username is your Web ID (ex: absmith), and the password is your portal password.

Gale Power Search
Search 12 different databases at once!
A good place to search for almost any topic - covers a wide range of subject areas.
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results)
Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File).
EBSCO General Databases
Search 10 databases at once: Academic Search Premier, TOPICsearch, MasterFILE Premier, Military & Government Collection, MAS Ultra - School Edition, Vocational and Career Collection, Associates Programs Source, Newspaper Source Plus, GreenFILE, and News (AP, UPI, etc.) Collection. Find journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

Back to Top

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
Criminal justice (3 Vols) Reference KF9214.5 .C75 2006
The encyclopedia of world crime : criminal justice, criminology, and law enforcement (6 Vols) Reference HV6017 .N3 1990
Courts, law, and justice Stacks HV7405 .C68 2011
Corrections Stacks HV8665 .C674 2011
Juvenile crime and justice Stacks HV9069 .J7785 2011
Exploring Policing, Crime and Society : A Brief but Critical Understanding ebrary View E-book
Psychology and Law of Criminal Justice Processes : Cases and Materials ebrary View E-book
Predictive Policing : The Role of Crime Forecasting in Law Enforcement Operations ebrary View E-book
Crime Classification Manual : A Standard System for Investigating and Classifying Violent Crime (3rd Edition) ebrary View E-book
Everything You Need to Know About the Basics of Criminal Justice in America eBook Collection View E-book
Careers in Forensic Science : Crime Scene Investigation: Criminalist eBook Collection View E-book
Cyber Security, Cyber Crime and Cyber Forensics : Applications and Perspectives eBook Collection View E-book
World of Criminal Justice, Gale Credo View E-book

 

Subject Headings:

Computer crimes. Corrections. Crime. Crime prevention. Crime scene searches. Criminal behavior, Prediction of. Criminal investigation. Criminal justice. Criminal justice, Administration of. Criminal law. Criminals. Evidence, Criminal. Forensic sciences. Juvenile delinquency. Juvenile justice. Law enforcement. Police. Police patrol. Prisons.

Call Number Range:

  • HV6001-7220.5 (Criminology)
  • HV7231-9960 (Criminal justice administration)
  • HV7551-8280.7 (Police, Detectives, Constabulary)
  • HV8290-8291 (Private security services)
  • HV8301-9920.7 (Penology, Prisons, Corrections)
  • KF1-9827 (Federal law of the United States, Common and collective state law)
Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
eBrary (Proquest)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) -- completely electronic
Find More Books...

Back to Top

Find Websites...

Organizations/Agencies

National Criminal Justice Association: (NCJA) is an association of state and local police chiefs, judges, attorneys, and other criminal justice officials who seek to improve the administration of state criminal and juvenile justice programs. It publishes the monthly newsletter Justice Bulletin, http://www.ncja.org/.

The Fraternal Order of Police: distributes material related to criminal justice and law enforcement issues. It upholds the right of law enforcement agencies to administer drug tests to their officers and applicants. The order works to support national efforts in the war on drugs, http://www.fop.net/.

The National Black Police Association: (NBPA) is a nationwide organization of African American police associations dedicated to the promotion of justice, fairness, and effectiveness in law enforcement, http://www.blackpolice.org/.

The International Association of Women Police envisions a world where women working in the criminal justice professions are treated justly, fairly, and equitably by the agencies they serve. The association provides network and support systems, training, and information aimed at increasing awareness and encouraging women to enter the criminal justice field. The organization publishes Women Police magazine, http://www.iawp.org/.

National Alliance of Gang Investigators' Associations is an organization of criminal justice professionals and organizations that works to promote and coordinate national antigang strategies, http://www.nagia.org/.

Federal Bureau of Investigation, Department of Justice is the investigative arm of the US Department of Justice. The mission of the FBI is "to protect and defend the United States against terrorist and foreign intelligence threats", to uphold and enforce the criminal laws of the United States, and to provide leadership and criminal justice services to federal, state, municipal, and international agencies and partners, http://www.fbi.gov/.

The Police Executive Research Forum: (PERF) is an independent research organization that focuses on critical issues in policing such as reducing police use of force, developing community policing and problem-oriented policing, using technologies to deliver police services to the community, and evaluating crime reduction strategies, http://www.policeforum.org/.

The Police Foundation strives to help policemen be more effective on the job, whether it be deterring robberies, intervening in potentially injurious family disputes, or working to improve relationships between the police and the communities they serve, http://www.policefoundation.org/.

American Correctional Association: (ACA) is "the oldest, and largest international correctional association in the World." This website provides pdf version of Corrections Today magazine, http://www.aca.org/.

American Jail Association: (AJA) is a national, nonprofit organization that exists to support those who work in and operate our nation's jails and is the only national association that focuses exclusively on issues specific to the operations of local correctional facilities, http://www.corrections.com/aja/index.shtml.

National Institute of Corrections is an agency within the U.S. Department of Justice, Federal Bureau of Prisons for correctional learning and training. The website provides access to the NIC library, which includes many full-text publications on correctional issues, http://nicic.org/.

U.S. Parole Commission provides information pertaining to parole and victim/witness program as well as commission reports, http://www.usdoj.gov/uspc/.

Identity Theft Resource Center is a nonprofit program dedicated exclusively to identity theft, evolving and growing crime. The website includes information on current laws that address the issue of identity theft and current studies, and links to relevant organizations, http://www.idtheftcenter.org/.

National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC): (NCPC) is a non-profit educational organization to address the causes of crime and violence and to reduce the opportunities for crime to occur, http://www.ncpc.org/.

National Center for Forensic Science provides research, education, training, tools and technology to meet the current and future needs of the forensic science, investigative and criminal justice communities. This website provides databases of ignitable liquids reference collection as well as information regarding digital, physical, and biological evidence, http://www.ncfs.ucf.edu/.

Go Law Enforcement is a website which promotes careers in local, state, and federal law enforcement. Included are a comprehensive directory of federal, state, and local law enforcement agencies, along with links to corresponding websites. Also provided are resources on law enforcement exploring, police reserves and auxiliary programs as well as a directory of law enforcement associations, http://www.golawenforcement.com/.

Crimes Against Children Research Center is dedicated to combating crimes against children by providing high quality research and statistics to the public, policy makers, law enforcement personnel, and other child welfare practitioners, http://www.unh.edu/ccrc/.

News service

The Crime Report (The John Jay Center on Media, Crime and Justice) provides news and multimedia information and networking resource for the contemporary world of crime and justice, http://www.thecrimereport.org/.

Occupation and training

CriminalJusticePrograms.com provides information about career paths, schools, and training for criminal justice careers, http://www.criminaljusticeprograms.com/criminal-justice-careers/.

Statistics

Bureau of Justice Statistics includes detailed descriptions of criminal justice topics, data collections, and terms. Includes tutorials and other helpful resources. Includes website for Criminal Victimization, http://www.bjs.gov/.

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data facilitates research in criminal justice and criminology, through the preservation, enhancement, and sharing of computerized data resources through the production of original research based on archived data. Identifies appropriate criminological and criminal justice data collections on specific topics. Housed by the University of Michigan, http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/icpsrweb/NACJD/.

State and Metropolitan Area Data Book features more than 1,500 data items for the United States and individual states, counties and metropolitan areas from a variety of sources. Covers crime statistics. Online and PDF versions of previous editions are available, with separate updates, http://www.census.gov/library/publications/2010/compendia/databooks.html.

Uniform Crime Reports (Federal Bureau of Investigation) In1930, the FBI began collecting, publishing, and archiving reliable, uniform crime statistics for the nation, http://www.fbi.gov/about-us/cjis/ucr/ucr.

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 01/18/17