Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects

Research Guide: General Computer Resources

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Computer Source
Be sure to check the "Full-Text" box before you search.
Gale Power Search (previously Gale Database Articles or Gale Full Database List)
Search 12 different databases at once!
A good place to search for almost any topic - covers a wide range of subject areas.
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results)
Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File).
EBSCO General Databases
Search 10 databases at once: Academic Search Premier, TOPICsearch, MasterFILE Premier, Military & Government Collection, MAS Ultra - School Edition, Vocational and Career Collection, Associates Programs Source, Newspaper Source Plus, GreenFILE, and News (AP, UPI, etc.) Collection. Find journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

Back to Top

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
CompTIA A+ guide to hardware: managing, maintaining, and troubleshooting Stacks TK7887 .A529 2017
Computer security : principles and practice Stacks QA76.9 .A25 S685 2015
CompTIA network+ certification exam guide : exam N10-006 Stacks TK5105.5 .M483 2015
The PC and gadget help desk : in depth Stacks TK7870.2 .S67 2015
The architecture of computer hardware, systems software, & networking : an information technology approach Stacks QA76.5 .E566 2014
Computer service and repair : laboratory manual Stacks TK7887 .C66 2015
The computing universe: a journey through a revolution Stacks QA76.17 .H49 2015
Design
Title Location Call Number
Introduction to computer graphics using Java 2D and 3D Stacks T385 .K53 2008
OpenGL graphics through applications Stacks T385 .W45 2008
Web development & design foundations with XHTML Stacks QA76.76 .H94 M655 2011
Graphic style lab : develop your own style with 50 hands-on exercises Stacks NC997 .H455 2015
CSS Web site design : includes exercise files and demo movies Stacks TK5105.888 .M475 2007

 

Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
eBrary (Proquest)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) -- completely electronic
Find More Books...

Back to Top

Find Websites...

Microsoft: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/default.aspx

Apple: http://www.apple.com/

Red Hat: open source technology

CNET: technology reviews

Professional Associations

IEEE Computer Society: http://www.computer.org/portal/web/guest/home

Association for Computing Machinery: http://www.acm.org/

Design

W3 Schools: http://www.w3schools.com/

Graphic Artists Guild: http://www.graphicartistsguild.org/.

Back to Top

Find Videos...

Library Catalog: Audiovisual Search: [Videos for Checkout]
Search for videos, audio books, CD-ROMs (software), and CDs that are located in the Audiovisual (AV) section of Spartanburg Community College Library. See a library staff member about requesting materials from a different campus.
Professional Behavior Videos [catalog link - click here]
Films on Demand [Streaming Videos]
Educational videos available via streaming to anywhere (off-campus must login with Portal username and password). If you experience any problems, please call the library at 592-4654.

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 03/07/17