Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects

Research Guide: General Communication Resources

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Gale Power Search
Journal, magazine, newspaper and book articles. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
EBSCO General Databases
Search 10 databases at once: Academic Search Premier, TOPICsearch, MasterFILE Premier, Military & Government Collection, MAS Ultra - School Edition, Vocational and Career Collection, Associates Programs Source, Newspaper Source Plus, GreenFILE, and News (AP, UPI, etc.) Collection. Find journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

Back to Top

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
Visual Rhetoric in a Digital World : a Critical Sourcebook Stacks P93.5 .H363 2004
Communication Skills for Medicine Stacks R118 .L565 2009
iSpeak : Public Speaking for Contemporary Life Stacks PN4129.15 .N46 2010
Technical communication : process and product Stacks PE1475 .G47 2012
Your perfect presentation : speak in front of any audience anytime anywhere and never be nervous again Stacks PN4192 .B87 H66 2014
Your perfect presentation : speak in front of any audience anytime anywhere and never be nervous again Downtown
Stacks
PN4192 .B87 H66 2014

 

Example Subject Terms: communication, public speaking, technical writing

Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
Ebook Central (Proquest)pascal resource
Search entire books available online.
Find More Books...

Back to Top

Find Websites...

IEEE Communications Society: organization for communications professionals, http://www.comsoc.org/

Communication Arts: publication website with some free articles online, http://www.commarts.com/

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 07/20/16