>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects
Research Guide: Career Research
Find Articles (Databases)...
Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).
OFF CAMPUS ACCESS: username is your Web ID (ex: absmith), and the password is your portal password.
- Find job duties, educational requirements, salary, skills, etc. for a career that you are interested in.
- Search for a career/job in the search box next to "Search Job Profiles"
- Be sure to search by the occupation's title rather than what you would be doing -- example, search 'welder' not 'welding'.
- This collection provides content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
- Full-text magazine, journal, and trade titles addressing all aspects of career studies. Topics include computing science, healthcare, building trades, auto mechanics, sales and retail, accounting, graphic design and photography.
Back to Top
Find Books...
Recommended Reference Books
- Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance -- REF. HF 5381 .E52 2005 4 Vols.
- Exploring Tech Careers: Real People Tell You What You Need to Know -- REF. HF 5382 .E97 2001 2 Vols.
- Enhanced Occupational Outlook Handbook -- REF. HF 5382 .F368 2005
- VGM's Careers Encyclopedia -- REF. HF 5382.5 .U5 C337 2002
- O*NET Dictionary of Occupational Titles -- REF. HB 2595 .O16 2004
- Career Information Center -- REF. HF 5382 .5 .U5 C32 2002 13 Vols.
- The Top 100: The Fastest Growing Careers for the 21st Century -- REF. HF 5382 .T59 2001
- South Carolina Industry & Occupation Projections 1994-2005 -- REF HC107.S7 E45
- Find materials that are in the physical library.
- Primarily good for finding books.
- Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
- Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
- See which library the book is located in, and what section.
- Be sure to write down the book's call number!
- Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 60,000 books - completely electronic
- Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
- For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
Back to Top
Find Websites...
Look up information on specific occupations:
Occupational Outlook Handbook: all types of careers; updated every year http://www.bls.gov/oco/home.htm
Career InfoNet: Occupation, Industry and State Information. Includes current labor market information, including current wages and trends by occupation in a particular state http://www.careerinfonet.org/
O*NET OnLine: Occupational Information Network: http://online.onetcenter.org/
South Carolina Employment Security Commission: http://www.sces.org/
South Carolina Employment Securities Exchange: Employment and Wage Estimates (State and Metropolitan), Wage Publications (by area) http://www.sces.org/lmi/data/wages/oews.asp
US Bureau of Labor Statistics: Metropolitan Area Occupational Employment & Wage Estimates: http://www.bls.gov/oes/current/oessrcma.htm
State Occupational Projections: http://www.projectionscentral.com
Jobstar.org: Links to Online Salary Surveys, http://jobstar.org/tools/salary/sal-prof.php
What if I don't know which occupation is right for me?
CareerOneStop: Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor, CareerOneStop assists in exploring careers, writing resumes, interviewing, and locating jobs. Though brought to the web by the State of Minnesota, the site provides links to other states and to nearly 2000 OneStopCareer Centers nationwide: http://www.careeronestop.org/
KUDER Career Planning System: Ask a library staff member for a copy of the Quick Start Guide if you wish to take the assessment tests on this site. http://sc.kuder.com/
South Carolina Occupational Information System: Ask a library staff member for the login information if you wish to take the assessment tests on this site. http://www.scois.net/
Back to Top
Find Help...
Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us using the form on our homepage (http://library.sccsc.edu) and we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.
Normal Reference Desk Hours: Mon-Thurs 7:30am - 9pm, Fri 7:30am - 1:30pm, Sat 9am - 1pm
Reference Desk Phone Number: Main-Spartanburg Campus (864) 592-4654, Cherokee Campus (864) 206-2656, Tyger River Campus (864) 592-6220
Back to Top