Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects >> Business

Research Guide: General Economics Resources

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Off Campus Access: username is your Web ID (ex: absmith), and the password is your portal password.

Business Insights: Essentials
Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals.
EBSCO Business Databases
Search 3 databases at once! Business Source Premier, Academic Search Premier, Regional Business News. Scholarly business journals and other sources, including 1,125 peer-reviewed business publications.
Small Business Reference Center
Offers a wide variety of information on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, common business types, a help and advice section, and provides information on how to create business plans that lead to successful funding. Includes videos interviewing business owners, as well as state specific resources.
EBSCO General Databases
Search 10 databases at once: Academic Search Premier, TOPICsearch, MasterFILE Premier, Military & Government Collection, MAS Ultra - School Edition, Vocational and Career Collection, Associates Programs Source, Newspaper Source Plus, GreenFILE, and News (AP, UPI, etc.) Collection. Find journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
Gale Power Search
Search 12 different databases at once!
A good place to search for almost any topic - covers a wide range of subject areas
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results)
Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File)

[Back to Top]

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
Dictionary of Economics Reference HB61 .R92 1992
Survey of Economics : Principles, Applications, and Tools Reserve HB171.5 .O843 2014
Basic Economics : A Common Sense Guide to the Economy Stacks HB171 .S713 2015
Economic Literacy : A Complete Guide Stacks HB171 .E2424 2010
Basic Economics : A Common Sense Guide to the Economy Stacks HB171 .S713 2015
Principles of Economics Stacks HB171.5 .S245 2003
Microeconomics Stacks HB171.5 .S9247 2013
Theories and Practices of Development eBook Collection View E-Book
The Big Three in Economics : Adam Smith, Karl Marx, and John Maynard Keynes ebrary View E-Book
Foundations of Business Economics : Markets and Prices eBook Collection View E-Book
Economics for Business ebrary View E-Book
Little Book of Economics : How the Economy Works in the Real World (2nd Edition) ebrary View E-Book
Easy Economics : A Visual Guide for What You Need to Know ebrary View E-Book
The American Economy: A Historical Encyclopedia Credo View E-Book
Big Ideas Simply Explained: The Economics Book Credo View E-Book
Browse Books on Economics    

Call Number Range

  • HA1-4737 (Statistics)
  • HB1-3840 (Economic theory. Demography)
  • HD28-9999 (Industries. Land use. Labor)
  • HF1-6182 (Commerce)
  • HG1-9999 (Finance)

Subject headings

Capitalism. Consumption (Economics). Economic development. Economic forecasting. Economic policy. Economics. Finance. Free enterprise. Free trade. Income distribution. Managerial economics. Options (Finance). Profit. Scarcity. Supply and demand. Surplus (Economics). Urban economics. Waste (Economics).

Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
eBrary (Proquest)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) -- completely electronic
Find More Books...

[Back to Top]

Find Websites...

Professional Organizations

American Economics Association: the largest U.S. economics association, http://www.aeaweb.org/index.php

International Economic Association: worldwide group of Economics Associations. Links to national websites, http://www.iea-world.org/.

American Finance Association: the premier academic organization devoted to the study and promotion of knowledge about financial economics, http://www.afajof.org/view/index.html.

American Agricultural Economic Association: the professional association of scientists who use economic tools to analyze issues and solve problems in the area of agriculture and food, http://www.aaea.org/.

General Economics Websites

Economic Education Web: (EcEdWeb) is the national portal to economic education resources in all forms and at all levels, http://ecedweb.unomaha.edu/.

American Institute for Economic Research: (AIER) conducts independent, scientific, economic research to educate individuals, thereby advancing their personal interests and those of citizens, https://www.aier.org/.

Center for Economic Policy and Research: (CEPR) was established in 1999 to promote democratic debate on the most important economic and social issues that affect people's lives. CEPR is committed to presenting issues in an accurate and understandable manner, so that the public can be informed about the problems and choices that they face, http://www.cepr.net/.

Economic Policy Institute: a nonpartisan think tank that seeks to broaden the public debate about strategies to achieve a prosperous and fair economy, http://www.epi.org/.

Institute for Economic Analysis: deals with the issues of full-employment growth, low inflation, low interest rates, income and wealth, and stock market stability. IEA is a non-profit research and education organization, http://www.iea-macro-economics.org/.

National Bureau of Economic Research: Founded in 1920, the National Bureau of Economic Research is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to promoting a greater understanding of how the economy works, http://www.nber.org/.

Government Agencies

Bureau of Economic Analysis: (BEA) promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing up-to-date, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner, http://www.bea.gov/.

Federal Reserve: the central bank of the United States which provides the nation with a safe, flexible, and stable monetary and financial system, http://www.federalreserve.gov/.

International Economics

United Nations Economic and Social Council: is the principal organ to coordinate the economic, social, and related work of the 14 UN specialized agencies, 10 functional commissions and five regional commissions. The Council serves as the central forum for discussing international economic and social issues, http://www.un.org/en/ecosoc/.

International Monetary Fund: (IMF) focuses on global monetary cooperation, financial stability, international trade, employment and economic growth, http://www.imf.org/external/index.htm.

International Atlantic Economic Society: Founded in 1973, the IAES promotes the dissemination of economic and financial research within the international community, http://www.iaes.org/.

Personal Finance

Smart About Money: (SAM) is one of the many resources of the National Endowment for Financial Education, a nonprofit foundation dedicated to helping you make sound financial decisions throughout life, http://www.smartaboutmoney.org/.

360 Degrees of Financial Literacy: is provided by the nation's certified public accounts to help Americans understand their personal finances through every stage of life, https://www.360financialliteracy.org/.

[Back to Top]

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 01/18/17