Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects

Research Guide: Automotive Technology / Ford Asset

Diagnostic/Repair Databases ...

ALLDATA
Find electronic diagnostic and repair information and services for the automotive service industry.
Manufacturer Technical Service Bulletins (TSBs) and recalls updated daily.
OEM wiring diagrams with connector, ground, power distribution and splice locations.
Maintenance tables - view service interval data on one screen.
Automatic repair information updates.
Mitchell 1 OnDemand 5 [On Campus Use Only]
Automotive repair, technical service bulletins and supporting graphics on over 16,000 vehicles.
Automotive Repair Reference Center
Contains repair and maintenance information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles. New repair procedures, TSBs and updates are added to the product on a regular basis.

Back to Top

Research Databases ...

Gale Power Search
Search 12 different databases at once!
A good place to search for almost any topic - covers a wide range of subject areas.
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results)
Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File).
EBSCO General Databases
Search 10 databases at once: Academic Search Premier, TOPICsearch, MasterFILE Premier, Military & Government Collection, MAS Ultra - School Edition, Vocational and Career Collection, Associates Programs Source, Newspaper Source Plus, GreenFILE, and News (AP, UPI, etc.) Collection. Find journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.

Back to Top

 

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
Principles of electricity and electronics for the automotive technician Stacks TL272 .C53 2010
Automotive wiring and electrical systems Stacks TL272 .C36 2009
Automotive service : inspection, maintenance, repair Stacks TL152 .G516 2012
Automotive technology for general service technicians Stacks TL152 .H1675 2008
Modern automotive technology Stacks TL146 .D84 2014
Automotive electricity & electronics Stacks TL272 .H63 2015 2 vols.

 

Example Subject Terms: automobiles

Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
Ebook Central (Proquest)pascal resource
Search entire books available online.
Find More Books...

Back to Top

ASE Test Prep...

  • Automobile Test (4th ed.) - Stacks, TL152 .A7977 2006 A1
  • Motor Age training : self-study guides for ASE certification - Stacks, TL157 .P3 M68 2006 A1

Back to Top

Find Webpages...

North American Council of Automotive Teachers: http://www.nacat.com

Popular Mechanics Magazine: This is the automotive page of the popular magazine, http://popularmechanics.com/cars/

Occupation and Safety Health Administration: http://www.osha.gov

Environmental Protection Agency: missions measurement, data and compliance reports, http://www.epa.gov

How Stuff Works: Explains hundreds of subjects, from car engines to lock-picking, in clear language with many illustrations, http://www.howstuffworks.com/index.htm

Carcare.com: Helps consumers play an active role in vehicle maintenance by providing information on auto parts, accessories, and repair, http://carcare.org

National Institute for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE): Aims to improve the quality of vehicle maintenance through the testing and certification of repair and service professionals, http://www.ase.com

Automotive Service Association (ASA): Provides information for owners and managers of mechanical, transmission, and collision shops, http://asashop.org/

International Automotive Technicians' Network (IATN): Presents a forum for the exchange of knowledge and experience among professional automotive technologists, http://www.iatn.net/

Auto Glossary: Defines over 10,000 acronyms, abbreviations, classic and contemporary terms, and jargon from all automotive areas, http://www.autoglossary.com/

The Mobile Air Conditioning Society (MACS): Serves the mobile air conditioning and engine cooling/ heat transfer industry, http://www.macsw.org/

CCAR - Green Link: Provides technicians with easy-to-use environmental compliance assistance and pollution prevention information and refers users to sources of state and local regulatory information, http://www.ccar-greenlink.org/

SAE: Contains information on standards development and the expertise used in designing, building, maintaining, and operating self-propelled vehicles for use on land, sea, or air. Site of an 84,000 member technical society, http://www.sae.org/servlets/index

Autonerdz: Introduces proven, field tested techniques and strategies developed by an automotive diagnostic training and consulting service, http://www.autonerdz.com/

Auto Jobs: A great source for people seeking jobs in the automotive industry, http://autojobs.com

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 01/23/17