Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects >> Astronomy

Research Guide: Astronomy Resources

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Off Campus Access: username is your Web ID (ex: absmith), and the password is your portal password.

EBSCO Science List
Search 3 databases at once! Science Reference Center, GreenFile, and Applied Science & Technology Full Text.
Today's Science
Today's Science explains important developments in biology, chemistry, the environment, space, physics, and technology. Updated weekly and containing thousands of links to a 15-year back-file. Facts on File database.
Gale Science in Context
Articles from over 200 magazines and academic journals and links to quality web sites.
Salem Press Science
Includes Encyclopedia of Global Resources and the Encyclopedia of Global Warming

[Back to Top]

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
The observer's guide to planetary motion : explaining the cycles of the night sky Stacks

QB601 .F67 2014

Black hole : how an idea abandoned by Newtonians, hated by Einstein, and gambled on by Hawking became loved

Stacks

QB843 .B55 B37 2015

Introducing astronomy : a guide to the universe

Stacks

QB44.3 .N53 2014

Dark matter and the dinosaurs : the astounding Interconnectedness of the universe Stacks

QB791.3 .R36 2015

The asteroid threat : defending our planet from deadly near-Earth objects

Stacks

QB651 .B87 2014

Example Subject Headings: astronomy, astronomer

Call Number Range: QB

Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
Ebook Central (Proquest)pascal resource
Search entire books available online.
Find More Books...

[Back to Top]

Find Websites...

Astronomy magazine - Magazine indexes from 1973 - present.

Astronomy picture of the day - Each day a different image or photograph of the universe is featured, along with a brief explanation written by a professional astronomer.

 Astronomy Now - Astronomy Now is the UK's largest astronomy magazine. Since 1987 it has been essential reading for astronomers in the UK and around the world.

Science Daily Astronomy News - Founded in 1995, ScienceDaily is one of the Internet's most popular science news web sites.

Astronomy & Astrophysics - Astronomy & Astrophysics is an international journal that publishes papers on all aspects of astronomy and astrophysics (theoretical, observational, and instrumental) independently of the techniques used to obtain the results.

American Astronomical Society - The American Astronomical Society (AAS), established in 1899 and based in Washington, DC, is the major organization of professional astronomers in North America.

Sky & Telescope - Sky & Telescope magazine, founded in 1941 by Charles A. Federer Jr. and Helen Spence Federer, has the largest, most experienced staff of any astronomy magazine in the world.

[Back to Top]

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 02/03/17