Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects

Research Guide: General Art Resources

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Credo Reference
Articles from almost 600 reference books, covering various subjects.
Gale Biography in Context (Gale)
Look up information on specific people. Find biographical essays, magazine/newspaper/journal articles, images and websites for people.
Gale U.S. History in Context (Gale)
Articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journal.
Gale World History in Context (Gale)
Full-text articles from leading scholarly publications, primary sources, images, maps and charts.
Gale Virtual Reference Library [Online Books] (Gale)
Contains the American Decades series and American Decades Primary Sources series, in addition to other reference books.
Salem Press History
Includes reference sets Decades: 30's - 90's; The Ancient World, The Middle Ages, The Renaissance, The 17th Century, The 18th Century, The 19th Century, The 20th Century, The Fifties, Seventies and Eighties in America, Notorious Lives, Inventors and Inventions, and Milestone Documents in American History.
Gale Power Search
Search 12 different databases at once!
A good place to search for almost any topic - covers a wide range of subject areas.
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results)
Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File).
Academic Search Premier
Search many different topics - covers a wide range of subject areas.
Be sure to check the "Full-Text" box before you search.

Back to Top

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
Art in Time : A World History of Styles and Movements Reference N5303 .A755 2014
Art that Changed the World Reference N5300 .A698 2013
Art History Reference N5300 .S923 2008
The Encyclopedia of Visual Art Reference N31 .E53 1989
Great Artists of the Western World II Reference N40 .G774 1988
History of Art Reference N5300 .J3 1997
The Oxford Companion to Art Reference N33 .O98 1970
St. James Guide to Black Artists Reference  N40 .S78 1997

 

Example Subject Terms: Monet, Renaissance

Call Number Range: N-NX

Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
Ebook Central (Proquest)pascal resource
Search entire books available online.
Find More Books...

Back to Top

Find Websites...

General Art Sites

Smarthistory: this website is sponsored by Khan Academy and provides introductory art history information, http://smarthistory.khanacademy.org/.

The Art Story: a non-profit foundation website for introductory information on modern art http://www.theartstory.org/

MoMA Learning: essays and information on modern and contemporary art from the Museum of Modern Art in New York City, http://www.moma.org/learn/moma_learning.

Art21: a non-profit website based off an award-winning PBS series that wants to engage and educate new viewers about contemporary visual art, http://www.art21.org/.

Virtual Museums Online--take virtual tours of museums around the world

Google Art Project: Walk through museums all around the world (a la google street view), and get incredible close-up detail on the most famous works of art.

Museum of Modern Art: Award-winning web site from the Museum of Modern Art, http://www.moma.org.

Metropolitan Museum of Art: http://www.metmuseum.org/.

Smithsonian Institution: http://www.si.edu/.

National Gallery of Art: Covers works of art and the artist, http://www.nga.gov.

National Portrait Gallery--United States: Hall of Presidents, teaching resources online, biographical information on artists, http://www.npg.si.edu.

National Portrait Gallery--London: Online portraits of historical figures, research publications, access to Heinz Archive and Library, http://www.npg.org.uk.

Tate Gallery: Over 8000 images online. Access to expanded Galleries in Liverpool and St. Ives and Tate Modern. Part of British Art Information Project, which is an initiative to have over 50,000 images online by 2001, http://www.tate.org.uk.

The Louvre, France: Home of Leonardo Da Vinci's "The Mona Lisa", http://www.louvre.fr/en/visites-en-ligne.

Uffizi Gallery--Florence, Italy: Botticelli, Caravaggio, Cimabue and more Italian greats, http://www.italyguides.it/us/florence/uffizi_gallery.htm.

Galleria dell'Acccademia: Michelangelo's "Statue of David" and "The Prisoners," http://www.italyguides.it/us/florence/accademia-gallery.htm.

The State Hermitage Museum, St. Petersburg, Russia: Home of paintings and sculpture by Raphael, Titian, DaVinci, Michelangelo and others, http://www.hermitagemuseum.org.

Sistine Chapel: Explore Michelangelo's Sistine Chapel Ceiling, http://mv.vatican.va/3_EN/pages/CSN/CSN_Main.html.

History of the World in 100 Objects (British Museum): an online virtual exhibit from the British Museum of 100 objects chosen for their significance to help tell the story of human history, http://www.britishmuseum.org/explore/a_history_of_the_world.aspx.

Design

American Society of Interior Designers: http://www.asid.org/

Interior Design: the magazine's website, http://www.interiordesign.net/

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 10/16/17