Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects >> Psychology

Research Guide: General Psychology Resources

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Off Campus Access: username is your Web ID (ex: absmith), and the password is your portal password.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
Contains full-text journals. Covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
Gale Power Search (previously Gale Database Articles or Gale Full Database List)
Search 12 different databases at once!
A good place to search for almost any topic - covers a wide range of subject areas.
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results)
Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File).
Academic Search Premier
Search many different topics - covers a wide range of subject areas.
Gale Biography in Context
Researching a Person? This is a fantastic place to find lots of information about famous people.
Begin by entering a name into the search box
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Reference, Magazines & News, etc.

[Back to Top]

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders : DSM-5 Reference RC455.2.C4 D54 2013
DSM-5 Clinical Cases Reference RC473 .D54 D76 2014
Clinical Handbook of Psychological Disorders
Reference RC 489 .B4 C584 2014
The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science Reference BF31 .E52 2010 4 Vols.
Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology E-book View E-Book
Encyclopedia of Mental Health Reference  RC 437 .K38 2008
Great Psychologists and Their Times Reference BF 109 .A1 S56 2002
Classic Experiments in Psychology Reference BF 198.7 M817 2004

 

Example Subject Terms: psychology, obsessive compulsive disorder, etc.

Call Number Range:

  • BF (Psychology)
  • RC 435-571 (Psychiatry)
Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
eBrary (Proquest)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) -- completely electronic
Find More Books...

Back to Top

Find Websites...

The American Psychological Association (APA): scientific and professional organization that represents psychologists in the United States, http://www.apa.org/.

National Institute of Mental Health: http://www.nimh.nih.gov.

Psychology Journals Online (some full text): http://psych.hanover.edu/Krantz/journal.html.

American Counseling Association: http://www.counseling.org.

Society for Clinical Psychology: http://www.apa.org/divisions/div12/aboutcp.html

[Back to Top]

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 04/05/17