Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects >> Psychology

Research Guide: Psychology 201 Book Report


Find Books...

Most of the books on the reading list are available as an eBook and the library has a print copy as well. You can search for the title in the library's eBook database or the library catalog (for the print copy) or use the links below to get directly to the eBook.

Recommended Books
Title Available as eBook? Available as hardcopy for checkout?
Bad Men Do What Good Men Dream: A Forensic Psychiatrist Illuminates
the Darker Side of Human Behavior
-
R.I. Simon
Yes Yes
Communist Manifesto - K. Marz and F. Engels Yes Yes
Metamorphosis- Kafka Yes Yes (in The Complete Stories by Kafka)
The Mystery of Edwin Drood - C. Dickens Yes No
Oedipus Trilogy: Oedipus the King  - Sophocles Yes Yes
Persuasion - J. Austen Yes Yes
Meno -Plato Yes Yes
Total Confinement: Madness and Reason in the Maximum Security Prison
-
L.A. Rhodes
Yes Yes
Vulnerable Observer: Anthropology that Breaks Your Heart- R. Behar Yes Yes
Wuthering Heights -- E. Bronte Yes Yes
Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
eBrary (Proquest)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) -- completely electronic
Find More Books...

Back to Top

How to Download an eBook to Your Smartphone, Tablet, or eReader...

You will need the following:

  • An Adobe ID username and password
  • Bluefire reader App (free) on your device
  • EBSCOHost account for the eBook Collection database

Getting Started is as easy as 1  2   3:

  1. Adobe ID: To create an Adobe ID, go to https://www.adobe.com/cfusion/membership/ and then tap/click on "Create an Adobe Account."
  2. Bluefire App: To download the Bluefire reader, go to http://www.bluefirereader.com and click/tap on either "Download BFR for Apple iOS" or "Download BFR for Android." After downloading Bluefire, you must authorize it with your Adobe ID before you can download and read eBooks to your device.
  3. EBSCOHost Account: To create an EBSCOHost account, go to the EBSCO eBook Collection database. If you are off-campus you will need to log in with your portal username/password. Once in the database, click on "Sign in" then "create a new account." Enter the information and click on "Save Changes."
To download an eBook to Your Smartphone or Table:
  1. Go to the EBSCO eBook Collection database.
    Note: If you are off-campus, you will need to login with your portal password and ID.
  2. Search for a book, then tap the eBook's image in the result list.
  3. This should take you to the "detailed record."
  4. Tap the "Download (Offline)" link for the eBook you would like to download.
  5. If you haven't already logged into EBSCO, you will be prompted to do so.
  6. Tap the Checkout & Download button.
  7. Most eBooks have a one week checkout.
    Note: Some titles may offer the option to download in PDF or ePub format. ePub format allows you to adjust the text size using the settings of your reader app.
  8. The eBook is added to the Checkout area of your My EBSCOhost folder and begins to download to your device.
  9. Bluefire should automatically open and prompt you to view your library or begin reading the eBook. Note: if you haven't already authorized Bluefire with your Adobe ID, you will be prompted to do so and then the book will open.

To download an eBook to Your Nook or Other eReader:

Have a Nook or other eReader? Go to https://spartanburg.hosted.panopto.com/Panopto/Pages/Viewer.aspx?id=ee771623-770e-4e71-89f7-ae69d383a93f for video instructions.

Kindle or Kindle Fire?

Right now eBooks cannot be downloaded to Kindles, but hopefully this will change. If you have a Kindle Fire, go to http://www.bluefirereader.com/blog/?p=158 for instructions on how to download the Bluefire reader. Just be aware that Amazon does not assume responsibility to any damage to your Kindle caused by third party apps.

 

[Back to Top]

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 02/09/16