Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects >> Psychology

Research Guide: Psychology 103 - Resources for Psychologist Brochure Project

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Off Campus Access: username is your Web ID (ex: absmith), and the password is your portal password.

Gale Power Search (previously Gale Database Articles or Gale Full Database List)
Search 12 different databases at once!
A good place to search for almost any topic - covers a wide range of subject areas.
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results)
Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File).
Academic Search Premier
Search many different topics - covers a wide range of subject areas.
Gale Biography in Context
Researching a Person? This is a fantastic place to find lots of information about famous people.
Begin by entering a name into the search box
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Reference, Magazines & News, etc.

[Back to Top]

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
Biographical Dictionary of Psychology Credo Reference View E-Book
Key Thinkers in Psychology Credo Reference View E-Book
APA Dictionary of Psychology Reference BF31 .A65 2015
Classic Experiments in Psychology Reference BF198.7 .M66 2004
The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology Reference BF31 .E52 2010 4 vols.
The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology Reference BF31 .G35 1996
The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology Tyger River and
Cherokee Reference
BF31 .G35 2001
Great Psychologists and Their Times: Scientific Insights Into Psychology's History Reference BF109.A1 S56 2002
A History of Ideas in American Psychology Reference BF105 .K45 2001
A History of Modern Psychology Reference BF105 .G66 2008
Magill's Encyclopedia of Social Science : Psychology Reference BF31 .M33 2003 4 vols.
Fifty key thinkers in psychology Reference
E-Book
BF109 .A1 S49 2004
View E-Book
A Pictorial History of Psychology Reference BF81 .P47 1997
Portraits of Pioneers in Psychology Reference
E-Book
BF109 .A1 P67 1991
View E-Book
Classic experiments in psychology Reference
BF198.7 .M66 2004
Classic experiments in psychology Downtown
Reference
BF198.7 .M66 2004
Psychology & Mental Health Reference BF636 .P86 2010 5 vols.
Psychology : Pythagoras to Present Reference
E-Book
BF81 .M35 2009
View E-Book
Psychologists and their theories for students Reference BF109 .A1 P72 2005 2 vols.
Psychologists and their theories for students Downtown
Reference
BF109 .A1 P72 2005 2 vols.

Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
Ebook Central (Proquest)pascal resource
Search entire books available online.
Find More Books...

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 07/18/16