Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects >> Industrial

Research Guide: General Welding Resources

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Associates Programs Source
Contains full-text journals and books. Covers many technical and 2-year programs.
Gale Power Search
Search 12 different databases at once!
A good place to search for almost any topic - covers a wide range of subject areas.
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results)
Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File).
EBSCO General Databases
Search 10 databases at once: Academic Search Premier, TOPICsearch, MasterFILE Premier, Military & Government Collection, MAS Ultra - School Edition, Vocational and Career Collection, Associates Programs Source, Newspaper Source Plus, GreenFILE, and News (AP, UPI, etc.). Find journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
AWS Academic Access [Welding Standards]
American Welding Society standards library. Contains all AWS electronic standards, specifications, methods and guidelines.
Directions: If off-campus, log in with your portal username and password; then students will need to select "University Users (Students)" as User Type and then click "sign in."  Faculty should get log in information from their department.

Back to Top

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
Structural Welding Code Reference TS227 .S87 2006
Pipe welding Stacks TS280 .J41 2017
Welding Stacks TS227 .H597 2017
Modern welding: complete coverage of the welding field in one easy-to-use volume! Stacks TS227 .W345 2013
The art of welding Stacks TS227 .G223 2014
Welding : principles and applications Stacks TS227 .J444 2017
Welding : Processes, Quality, and Applications eBook Collection View E-Book
Joining : Understanding the Basics ebrary View E-Book

 

Example Subject Terms: Welding; Solder and soldering; Brazing.

Call Number Range: TS 200-700 (Metal Manufactures/ Metalworking)

Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
Ebook Central (Proquest)pascal resource
Search entire books available online.
Find More Books...

Back to Top

Find Websites...

American Welding Society: http://www.aws.org/w/a/

Welding Design and Fabrication: welding trade publication with some stories available on their website, http://weldingdesign.com/.

Welding Journal - Research: The Welding Journal has some free research papers, etc. on their website, http://www.aws.org/w/a/research/index.html.

American Machinist: has some free articles on their website, http://www.americanmachinist.com/default.aspx

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 09/30/16