Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects

Research Guide: General Horticulture Resources

Find Books...

Recommended Books: Horticulture
Title Location Call Number
American Horticultural Society A-Z Encyclopedia of Garden Plants Reference SB403.2 .A45 2004
American Horticultural Society Encyclopedia of Gardening Reference SB 450.95 A45 2003
Garden Insects of North America: The Ultimate Guide to Backyard Bugs Reference SB 605 .N7 C73 2004
Landscape Estimating Methods Reference SB472.565 .F44 2002
North American Plantfile: A Visual Guide to Plant Selection, for Use in Landscape Design Reference SB435 .H533 1998
Site Work and Landscape Cost Data Reference TH435 .M4367 2014
The manual of plant grafting: practical techniques for ornamentals, vegetables, and fruit Stacks SB123.65 .M23 2014
Recommended Books: Biographical Research
Title Location Call Number
Great Lives From History: Science and Scientists Reference  Q141 .G7667 2013 3 vols.

Recommended Books: Evolution
Title Location Call Number
Encyclopedia of evolution Reference QH360.2 .E54 2002
Encyclopedia of evolution Reference QH360.2 .R53 2007
The art of plant evolution Reference QK98.3 .K74 2009
The evolution of plants Stacks QK980 .W56 2014
Approaches to plant evolutionary ecology Stacks QK980 .C44 2015
Plant life: a brief history Stacks QK980 .E85 2015
Paleobotany and the evolution of plants Stacks QE905 .S73 2009

Sample Subject Headings: horticulture, pruning, invasive plants,

Call Number Range: SB's

Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
eBrary (Proquest)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) -- completely electronic
Find More Books...

Back to Top

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Off Campus Access: username is your Web ID (ex: absmith), and the password is your portal password.

Gale Power Search (previously Gale Database Articles or Gale Full Database List)
Search 12 different databases at once!
A good place to search for almost any topic - covers a wide range of subject areas.
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results)
Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File).
Academic Search Premier
Search many different topics - covers a wide range of subject areas.
Gale Biography in Context
Researching a Person? This is a fantastic place to find lots of information about famous people.
Begin by entering a name into the search box
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Reference, Magazines & News, etc.

[Back to Top]

Find Websites...

Horticulture Databases and Reference Sites

AGRICOLA: Database indexes articles in all major horticultural and agricultural publications. Contains mostly citations and references; however some citations have links to full text articles. Good background information available here, http://agricola.nal.usda.gov

Bulb.com: This site provides comprehensive bulb and bulb growing information from the U.S. Netherlands Flower Bulb Information Center (NFBIC). Information on forcing bulbs and growing bulbs commercially is available, as well as using bulbs in landscaping, http://www.bulb.com

Gardening Personalities, Garden Designers and Gardeners of Note: Alphabetical list of key figures in the above categories with brief descriptions of their work. Site provides good introductory information, http://www.sisley.co.uk/gardeners-plantsmen-garden-designers/

International Society of Arboriculture: Website of ISA, a worldwide professional organization dedicated to fostering a greater appreciation for trees and to promoting research, technology, and the professional practice of arboriculture, http://www.isa-arbor.com/.

Ohio State University horticulture resources: Factsheet Database contains over 20,000 links to horticulture and crop science related fact sheets. Online plant dictionary covers plants, pests and diseases, biology, history and technology, http://webgarden.osu.edu

Ohio State University College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences: Bulletins and fact sheets on trees, flowers, fruit, insects, weed control, soil management, etc., http://cfaes.osu.edu/home

GardenGuides.com: Fact sheets on annuals, bulbs, perennials, vegetables, and herbs, http://www.gardenguides.com/.

Index Herbariorum: Directory of public herbaria of the world, http://sciweb.nybg.org/science2/IndexHerbariorum.asp

Extension Services, Online Horticulture Journals and Horticulture Associations

National Agricultural Statistics Service (USDA): Provides current and historical statistics on fruit and vegetable production. Includes census of horticultural specialties and commercial horticultural information, such as bedding plants sold, foliage plants sold, hanging baskets sold, labor, land use, and expenses in commercial horticultural businesses, http://www.nass.usda.gov

American NurseryMan: http://www.amerinursery.com/

Home & Garden Information Center from Clemson Extension: Fact sheets on landscape and garden plants, insects, and diseases, http://hgic.clemson.edu/

Wayside Gardens: Plant Finder section is arranged alphabetically. Listing habitat, seed germination, uses, diseases, propagation. Links to other gardening sites. Offers online ordering of plants, bulbs, and gardening supplies, http://www.waysidegardens.com/

Garden Gate Magazine: The Illustrated Guide to Home Gardening and Design, http://www.gardengatemagazine.com/

The Internet Garden Community: Contains online horticulture dictionary and glossary. Links to many online plant discussions groups, horticulture societies and garden-related business which provide online catalogs, http://www.gardenweb.com

National Gardening Association: Regional gardening info and online dictionary and glossary. Subscribe to their newsletter, http://www.garden.org

Magazine Archives and Indexes

Use these links to help locate articles in back issues of horticulture related magazines located in the library

American NurseryMan: Select Current Issue, links to back issues on left side of page, http://www.amerinursery.com

Carolina Gardener Archives: Index of Back Issues, Organized by Topic, http://www.carolinagardener.com/

The English Garden: Article Index, Searchable Archives, Click on "United States" then "Article Index," http://www.theenglishgarden.co.uk/

Garden Design: Article Search: http://www.gardendesign.com/

Grounds Maintenance: Select the "Browse Back Issues" Drop Down Box, http://www.grounds-mag.com/

Horticulture: Article Index, PDF Index Individually by Year, http://www.hortmag.com/article_index.asp

House Beautiful: Click on Past Issue Archive, http://www.housebeautiful.com

Landscape Architecture Magazine Archive: Organized by Issue, http://www.asla.org/lamag/archive.html

Landscape Management: Issue Archive, Organized by Issue, http://www.landscapemanagement.net

Mother Earth News: Index and Archive, Archive Index, Organized by Issue, http://www.motherearthnews.com

Evolution Websites

The Complete Works of Charles Darwin Online: darwin-online.org.uk

Darwin Manuscript Project: http://www.amnh.org/our-research/darwin-manuscripts-project

National Center for Science Education: www.ncseweb.org

The Society for the Study of Evolution: www.ncseweb.org

Tree of Life Web Project: tolweb.org/tree

Understanding Evolution: evolution.berkeley.edu

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 02/08/17