Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects >> History

Research Guide: General History Resources

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Gale U.S. History in Context
Articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journal.
Gale World History in Context (previously History Resource Center: World)
Full-text articles from leading scholarly publications, primary sources, images, maps and charts.
EBSCO History List
Search 3 databases at once! History Reference Center, Military & Gov't Collection, European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750. Covers U.S. and World History.
Salem Press History
--Includes reference sets Decades: 30's - 90's; The Ancient World, The Middle Ages, The Renaissance, The 17th Century, The 18th Century, The 19th Century, The 20th Century, The Fifties, Seventies and Eighties in America, Notorious Lives, Inventors and Inventions, and Milestone Documents in American History.
Academic Search Premier
Search many different topics - covers a wide range of subject areas.
Be sure to check the "Full-Text" box before you search.
eBook Collection
Collection of over 120,000 full text books online.

Back to Top

Find Websites...

National Park Service - Manassas: http://www.nps.gov/mana/index.htm.

National Park Service - Chickamauga & Chattanooga: http://www.nps.gov/chch/index.htm.

National Park Service -Gettysburg: http://www.nps.gov/gett/index.htm.

National Park Service -Antietam: http://www.nps.gov/anti/index.htm.

NPS Historical Handbook Series: http://www.nps.gov/parkhistory/online_books/hh/index.htm.

National Park Service - Civil War Timeline: http://www.nps.gov/gett/historyculture/civil-war-timeline.htm.

National Park Service - 150 Year Celebration: http://www.nps.gov/features/waso/cw150th/index.html.

National Park Service - American Civil War In Depth: http://www.nps.gov/cwindepth/civilwar.htm

The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History: http://www.gilderlehrman.org/history-by-era/civil-war-and-reconstruction-1861-1877

The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History Primary Sources: http://www.gilderlehrman.org/collections/groupings/civil-war-1861-1865

[Back to Top]

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 02/08/16