Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects >> History

Research Guide: History 201 (Funk) - Civil War Newspapers Project

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Gale U.S. History in Context
Articles from more than 30 reference titles, and over 110 full-text journal.
eBook Collection
Collection of over 120,000 full text books online.

Back to Top

Find Websites...

First Battle of Bull Run (Manassas)

Manassas (Bull Run) Nat'l Battlefield: Read intro material, and then click on "History and Culture" for more detail about the battle, http://www.nps.gov/mana/index.htm.

First Battle of Manassas [online book]: Lots of detail about the battles, and breakdown of time table/events, http://www.nps.gov/parkhistory/online_books/civil_war_series/17/index.htm

Battle of Chickamauga

Chickamauga & Chattanooga Nat'l Military Park: Read intro material, and then click on "History and Culture" for more detail about the battle, http://www.nps.gov/chch/index.htm.

The Battle of Chickamauga [online book]: Lots of detail about the battles, and breakdown of time table/events, http://www.nps.gov/parkhistory/online_books/civil_war_series/10/index.htm

Battle of Gettysburg

Gettysburg Nat'l Military Park: Read intro material, and then click on "History and Culture" for more detail about the battle, http://www.nps.gov/gett/index.htm.

Battle of Gettysburg [online book]: Lots of detail about the battles, and breakdown of time table/events, http://www.nps.gov/parkhistory/online_books/civil_war_series/16/index.htm

Battle of Antietam

Antietam Nat'l Battlefield: Read intro material, and then click on "History and Culture" for more detail about the battle, http://www.nps.gov/anti/index.htm.

Antietam Historical Handbook [online book]: Lots of detail about the battles, and breakdown of time table/events, http://www.nps.gov/parkhistory/online_books/hh/31/hh31toc.htm

General Civil War Topics: overviews, timelines, prisoners of war, women, African Americans, etc.

A Concise History of the Civil War [online book]: Battles, Field Generals, etc. Also, the chapter called "In Durance Vile" is about prisoners of war,
http://www.nps.gov/parkhistory/online_books/civil_war_series/1/index.htm

Civil War Timeline: a detailed timeline of the war from the National Parks Service, http://www.nps.gov/gett/historyculture/civil-war-timeline.htm.

Life in Civil War America [online book]: Includes a chapter union nurses and a chapter on Clara Barton's postwar crusade, http://www.nps.gov/parkhistory/online_books/civil_war_series/4/index.htm

The Prison Camp at Andersonville [online book]: Good for the prisoners of war stories, http://www.nps.gov/parkhistory/online_books/civil_war_series/5/index.htm

The Civil War's Common Soldier [online book]: Has chapters on who the common solider was, the poor man's fight, the role of black soldiers, prisoners of war, the home fires, and women of the war, http://www.nps.gov/parkhistory/online_books/civil_war_series/3/index.htm

The Civil War's Black Soldiers [online book]: A lot of detail about African American soldiers during the war in the Confederate and Union armies, and also including a chapter on prisoners of war, http://www.nps.gov/parkhistory/online_books/civil_war_series/2/index.htm

More Resources: Slavery, Lincoln, African Americans, Primary Resources, etc.

National Park Service - 150 Year Celebration: http://www.nps.gov/features/waso/cw150th/index.html.

National Park Service - American Civil War In Depth: http://www.nps.gov/cwindepth/civilwar.htm

National Park Service - Civil War Book Series [online books]: http://www.nps.gov/parkhistory/online_books/civil_war_series/

The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History: http://www.gilderlehrman.org/history-by-era/civil-war-and-reconstruction-1861-1877

The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History Primary Sources: http://www.gilderlehrman.org/collections/groupings/civil-war-1861-1865

[Back to Top]

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 07/20/15