Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects >> History

Research Guide: History Book Reviews

Find History Book Reviews...

Note: These are general guidelines and helpful hints. Please check with your instructor for your specific requirements.

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

There are many ways to do this assignment -- below are several different places to look.

Academic Search Premier

  1. Click on "Academic Search Premier" above -- if off-campus, enter you Portal username and password.
  2. Click "Advanced Search" below the search box.
  3. Academic Search Premier
  4. You should now see 3 search boxes at the top of the page...
  5. In the first search box, enter "Books--Reviews" and then in the drop down box beside it, select "SU Subject Terms."
  6. In the second search box, enter whatever person, event, time period, etc. you are interested in reading about. Note: if you have a specific book in mind, enter the title of the book.
  7. Look down the page to find the "Full Text" box -- make sure this box is checked.
  8. Now click "search."
  9. Academic Search Premier
  10. Scroll through your results and click on the "HTML Full Text" or "PDF Full Text" links under each article to read the full book review. Note: If you use the PDF Full Text, make sure you have all your citation information before you close you window.
  11. If you need 2 or 3 book reviews of the same book, scroll through the list to see if there is a book that has more than one review. Note: you may have to open the review to see which book or books is being reviewed.
  12. Academic Search Premier

Back to Top

Gale Power Search (previously Gale Database Articles or Gale Full Database List)

  1. Click "Gale Power Search (previously Gale Database Articles or Gale Full Database List) " above -- if off-campus, enter you Portal username and password.
  2. Click the gold-colored "Advanced Search" button.
  3. Gale Full Database Search
  4. In the first search box, enter whatever person, event, time period, etc. you are interested in reading about. Note: if you have a specific book in mind, enter the title of the book.
  5. Below the search boxes, next to "By Document Type" select "Book Review" (you'll have to scroll down)
  6. Now click "search."
  7. Gale Full Database Search
  8. Notice the categories under "Content Type" in the left side-bar -- each category is a different set of results, "Academic Journals" should be the best link to start with.
  9. Click on the title to see the full book review.
  10. Gale Full Database Search
  11. If you need 2 or 3 book reviews of the same book, scroll through the list to see if there is a book that has more than one review. Note: you may have to open the review to see which book or books is being reviewed.
  12. Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File). You will need this for your citation.

Back to Top

Book Review Index Online Plus

A comprehensive online guide to book reviews that includes more than five million review citations from thousands of publications, with linking to more than 630,000 full-text reviews.

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 06/18/15