Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects >> Health Sciences

Research Guide: Radiologic Technologist Resources

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Health Reference Center Academic
Full-text nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources.
Health Source: Nursing & Academic Edition
Scholarly full-text journals. Abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Updated daily.
CINAHL (EBSCO)
Full-text for nursing & allied health journals.
EBSCO Health Databases
Search all 4 of the EBSCO health databases at once! These include Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, CINAHL, MEDLINE, and Health Source: Consumer Edition.
Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module (Gale)
Encyclopedia, dictionary, drug index, magazine articles.
See all Health Science Databases
Gale Power Search
Search 12 different databases at once!
Covers a wide range of subject areas
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results).
The most recent articles are listed first on the results page - check to make sure your article was published in the last five years!
Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File). You will need this for your citation.

Back to Top

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
Merrill's Atlas of Radiographic Positioning & Procedures Reference RC78.4 .F72 2016  3 vols.
Radiography in the Digital Age: Physics, Exposure, Radiation Biology Reference  RC 78.7 .D53 2011
Radiographic Imaging and Exposure Reference RC 78 .F33 2013
Textbook of Radiographic Positioning and Related Anatomy Reference RC 78.4 .B66 2014
Radiologic science for technologists: physics, biology, and protection Reference R895 .B86 2017
Breast imaging companion Stacks RC280 .B8 C366 2017
Sectional anatomy by MRI and CT Stacks QM25 .E38 2017
Computed tomography : physical principles, clinical applications, and quality control Stacks RC78.7 .T6 S36 2016
Comprehensive radiographic pathology Stacks RC78 .E533 2016
Essentials of radiographic physics and imaging Stacks RC78.7 .D53 J63 2016
Fundamentals of sectional anatomy : an imaging approach Stacks QM25 .L39 2015
Handbook of interventional radiologic procedures Stacks RD33.55 .H36 2016
Learning radiology : recognizing the basics Stacks R899 .H472 2016
Patient care in radiography Stacks RC78 .E48 2017
Introduction to radiologic & imaging sciences & patient care Stacks R898 .I565 2016
Ultrasound : the requisites Stacks RC78.7 .U4 M53 2016
Diagnostic imaging: Nuclear medicine Stacks RC78.7 .D53 D5282 2007
Lange Q&A radiography examination Stacks RC78.15 .S25 2016
Radiography prep: program review and exam prep Stacks RC78.15 .S255 2015
Mosby's comprehensive review of radiography Stacks RC78.17 .C35 2017
Bontrager's handbook of radiographic positioning and techniques Stacks RC78.4 .L35 2018
Bontrager's textbook of radiographic positioning and related anatomy Stacks RC78.4 .B67 2018

 

Example Subject Headings: radiography, tomography, radiation therapy, etc.

Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
Ebook Central (Proquest)pascal resource
Search entire books available online.
Find More Books...

Back to Top

Find Websites...

The American Registry of Radiologic Technologists: http://www.arrt.org

American Society for Therapeutic Radiology and Oncology: http://www.astro.org

American Society of Radiologic Technologists: http://www.asrt.org

Annual radiation dose calculator: http://environweb.lanl.gov/newnet/info/dosecalc.aspx

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: http://www.cdc.gov

Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology: http://www.jrcert.org

LUMEN: Structure of the Human Body (Loyola University Medical Education Network): http://www.meddean.luc.edu/lumen/meded/grossanatomy/ga.html

Radiological Society of North America: http://www.rsna.org/

South Carolina Society of Radiologic Technologists: http://scsrt.org

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 09/08/17