Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects >> Health Sciences

Research Guide: Disease Resources

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module (Gale)
Primarily reference articles from encyclopedias, dictionaries, etc. Click on "diseases and conditions" in the menu for an alphabetical list.
Health Reference Center Academic
Full-text nursing and allied health journals, plus the wide variety of personal health information sources.
EBSCO Health Databases
Search all 4 of the EBSCO health databases at once! These include Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, CINAHL, MEDLINE, and Health Source: Consumer Edition.
See ALL Health Science Databases

Back to Top

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
Communicable Disease Control and Health Protection Handbook Reference RC112 .C626 2012
Magill's Medical Guide Reference
E-Book
RC41 .M34 2011 6 vols.
View E-Book
Netter's Infectious Diseases Reference RC111 .N38 2012

 

Example Subject Headings: diseases, symptoms, diabetes, cancer, etc.

Call Number Range: RC's (primarily)

Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
Ebook Central (Proquest)pascal resource
Search entire books available online.
Find More Books...

Back to Top

Find Websites...

MEDLINEplus: Easy-to-understand resource on various diseases and health topics for the public. Includes links to self-help groups, health organizations, medical dictionaries, and clinical trials, http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/.

American Cancer Society: Good source for information about cancer, http://www.cancer.org/.

American Diabetes Association: Good source of information about diabetes, http://www.diabetes.org.

American Heart Association: Good source for information about the heart and heart related diseases, http://www.americanheart.org.

American Lung Association: Good source for information about lungs and lung related diseases, http://www.lungusa.org.

Centers for Disease Control: Good source for statistical information on diseases, http://www.cdc.gov.

National Cancer Institute : Consumer-oriented information on a wide range of cancer-related topics, http://www.cancer.gov.

National Institutes of Health: Includes A-Z index of NIH health resources, clinical trials and link to MEDLINEplus, http://www.nih.gov.

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 07/18/16