Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects >> AOT

Research Guide: HIM 141 - Health Law Research

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
Bioethics : health care law and ethics Reference KF3821 .A7 B56 2004
Cultural diversity in health and illness Reference RA418.5 .T73 S64 2009
Health care fraud and abuse : practical perspectives Reference KF3605 .H43 2007
Health care law & ethics Reference KF3821 .H35 2007
HIPAA plain and simple : after the final rule Reference R728 .H37 2014
HIPAA policies & procedures desk reference Reference KF1183 .H83 2003
Legal and ethical essentials of health care administration Reference KF3821 .P694 2014

Suggested Subject Headings -- to search in catalog

  • medical office, patient care, medical records, medical care, law, legislation
Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
eBrary (Proquest)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) -- completely electronic
Find More Books...

Back to Top

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Off Campus Access: username is your Web ID (ex: absmith), and the password is your portal password.

EBSCO Health Databases
Search ALL 4 of the EBSCO health databases at once! These include Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition, CINAHL, MEDLINE, and Health Source: Consumer Edition.
Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health Module (Gale)
Encyclopedia, dictionary, drug index, magazine articles.
Gale Power Search
Search 12 different databases at once!
Covers a wide range of subject areas
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results).
The most recent articles are listed first on the results page - check to make sure your article was published in the last five years!
Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File). You will need this for your citation.

Back to Top

Find Websites...

AIShealth.com: Specialized Business Information for Health Care Managers, http://aishealth.com

American Medical Association: http://www.ama-assn.org

American Health Information Management Association: http://www.ahima.org

Professional Association of Health Care Office Management: http://www.pahcom.com

South Carolina Medical Association: https://www.scmedical.org/

Health Lawyers Association: http://www.healthlawyers.org

Electronic Privacy Information Center--Medical Records: http://www.epic.org/privacy/medical

United States Department of Health and Human Services: http://www.hhs.gov

TAF: Tax Payers Against Fraud: False Claims Act Legal Center, http://www.taf.org

National Health Care Anti-Fraud Association: http://www.nhcaa.org

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS): http://www.cms.hhs.gov

Association of American Medical Colleges: http://www.aamc.org

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 07/12/16