Skip to Navigation

Spartanburg Community College Library Website

Need Help? Ask-A-Librarian

>> Library Homepage >> All Subjects >> AOT

Research Guide: General AOT Resources

Find Books...

Recommended Books
Title Location Call Number
Business: The Ultimate Resource Reference HD38.15 .B878 2006
Administrative Assistant's and Secretary's Handbook Reference HF5547.5 .S8163 2008
Gregg Reference Manual Stacks PE1479 .B87 S23 2011
Complete Project Management Office Handbook Reference HD69 .P75 H54 2004
New Office Professional's Handbook Reference HF5547.5 .P7 2001

Sample Subject Headings -- to search in catalog

  • office management, office procedures, office practice, conflict management, interpersonal communication, time management, clothing and dress

Call Number Range:

  • HD 28-70 (Management)
  • HF 5546-5548.6 (Office Management)
  • HF 5548.4 (Computer Programs)
  • HF 5717-5734.7 (Business Communication)
  • TT 490-695 (Clothing and Dress)
Library Catalog
Find materials that are in the physical library.
Primarily good for finding books.
Books are usually about broader topics than articles, so you may need to broaden your search terms (ex- instead of "texting" perhaps search for "cell phone use").
Books are not going to be as up-to-date as articles because they take longer to publish.
See which library the book is located in, and what section.
Be sure to write down the book's call number!
eBook Collection (EBSCO)
Search the full-text (every word on every page) of over 120,000 books - completely electronic
E-Book Hint:: On the search page, check the box "Also search within the full text of the articles" to search within the text of the book to get more results.
Note you can only print 10 pages at a time - only print out the important pages
For citation information: click on "Detailed Record" in the left sidebar when viewing an e-book. You will need this information later on!
Ebook Central (Proquest)pascal resource
Search entire books available online.
Find More Books...

Back to Top

Find Articles (Databases)...

Start at the library's home page (http://library.sccsc.edu).

Off Campus Access: username is your Web ID (ex: absmith), and the password is your portal password.

Gale Power Search (previously Gale Database Articles or Gale Full Database List)
Search 12 different databases at once!
Covers a wide range of subject areas
Notice the different results links on the left on the search result page: Magazines, Academic Journals, etc. (each link is a different set of results).
The most recent articles are listed first on the results page - check to make sure your article was published in the last five years!
Note which database you article comes from - look for "From ______" on the search page (ex - From General One File). You will need this for your citation.
EBSCO General Databases
Search 10 databases at once: Academic Search Premier, TOPICsearch, MasterFILE Premier, Military & Government Collection, MAS Ultra - School Edition, Vocational and Career Collection, Associates Programs Source, Newspaper Source Plus, GreenFILE, and News (AP, UPI, etc.) Collection. Find journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
Business Databases

Back to Top

Find Websites...

Travel Arrangements

Mapquest: maps and directions for any US location, http://www.mapquest.com/

Expedia: http://www.expedia.com

Orbitz: http://www.orbitz.com

PriceLine: http://www.priceline.com

Travelocity: http://www.travelocity.com/

Fodors: a good starting point for tourist information on a specific location, http://www.fodors.com/

Online Phone Books

AnyWho Online Directory: http://www.anywho.com

Big Book.com: http://www.bigbook.com

WhitePages.com: http://www.whitepages.com

Yellow Pages.com: http://www.yellowpages.com

Professional Development

International Association of Administrative Professionals (IAAP):  http://www.iaap-hq.org/

Association for Legal Professionals: http://www.nals.org

About.com Career Planning Communication Skills: Articles on Writing Skills, Taking Minutes, etc., http://careerplanning.about.com/od/communication

CollegeGrad.com Interview Tips: http://www.collegegrad.com/intv/

Quintessential Careers Interview Tips: http://www.quintcareers.com/intvres.html

Back to Top

Find Help...

Ask-a-Librarian: Can't come to the library? Email us! And we'll get back to you a.s.a.p.

Library Hours: Click to view our regular library hours

Contact Us: Need to speak with a librarian? Call us!

Back to Top

Last updated: 06/29/16